We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt for choice!”
Review of Dux Dine

Dux Dine
Ranked #23 of 1,068 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dux Dine is a reflection of the past but a move into the future. A contemporary feeling, with fresh local seafood and vegetarian delights, Dux Dine has plenty to offer. Our delicious New Zealand wines and Dux craft beers are certainly a crowd pleaser. Dux Dine is situated in a historic turn-of-the-century Villa that was originally the Station Masters House for the Riccarton Railway. The villa has been extensively but sympathetically reworked to provide a variety of spaces to be enjoyed whether it be an intimate candlelit dinner for two, a large group celebration at one of the huge Kauri tables, grabbing a morning coffee at the breakfast bar, enjoyi Dux Dine has many reminiscences of the iconic Dux de Lux yet new and fresh while remaining comfortably familiar. Many of the old favourites can be seen on the menu as well as exciting fresh new foods and ideas. Dux Dine offers many setting options, from relaxing in a lounge, formal table setting to sitting in our sun drenched court yard. Whether it be a small group, special lunch or dinner, corporate event, product launch or company celebration we can cater for your needs. As a company we are passionate about supporting the local businesses around us. The seafood served in the restaurant is frequently sourced from Akaroa, Stuart Island and the West and East Coast including Southern Glory Oysters. With the ever changing environment, Dux Dine is pleased to say that we are environmentally friendly. Coffee cups, take away containers, and menus are all recycled.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Came here on the night of our 2nd anniversary from Melbourne and thought that it was a really cute place and one where there was a variety of choice. The prawn pizza and seafood pasta was amazing - we couldn't get enough of it! The service was very attentive and definitely felt that we were taken care of. Would recommend highly! (Especially those who like their seafood).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hello Arthur L
Firstly HAPPY ANNIVERSARY and thank you for choosing Dux Dine and taking the time to review your experience with us.
We are always excited to hear we've ticked the right boxes and especially when such an important date is celebrated.
We hope to see you back here some time in the very near future and that you enjoyed the rest of your time here in NZ
Best regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 627 of 788 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Our group of 6 attended for a birthday celebration. With one of the group being vegetarian we decided on Dux Dine. Knowing they serve both vegetarian and seafood we thought everyone would find something they wanted to eat and they did even the male in our party who was convinced meals without meat were not meals at all! Personally I had the pea and halomi fritters which was delicious. The aubergine stack looked wonderful and the fish of the day was judged delicious. The gas fire kept us warm and the service was prompt and friendly. Easy booking online, with both confirmation email and a reminder on the day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JulieSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear JuliaSNZ
Thank you for your recent review of yours and your guests experience with us here at Dux Dine.
We're always very pleased to receive feedback from guests and especially so when positive. I particularly like that one of your meat-eater guests also enjoyed their dining, sometimes difficult to convince people that meat is not actually an essential for every meal.
We are also pleased with our new-ish reservations diary that allows guests to make their own reservation, I have to admit the system is one we purchased however find it very easy for staff and guests alike.
We sincerely hope to see you back again in the very near future and thank you again for your review.
Best regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have eaten here often, most recently last week and it is as amazing as ever!

My order is almost always the spanakopita and it has never let me down! Perfection!

The service, atmosphere, decor, dinner, dessert, & wine, everything is fantastic! My favourite restaurant in CHCH hands down!

I am sure to be back many more times and highly recommend this place to everyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rochelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Hello Rochelle T
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your experiences with us here at Dux Dine.
Your comments are heartening and an absolute pleasure to receive, especially from someone who obviously knows and enjoys dining from the number of reviews you have shared.
As always, our endeavour is to continue our level of service and product and keep raising the bar.
We look forward to seeing you back again in the very near future.
Best regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Recently in Christchurch overnight for business and based on location had dinner and breakfast at Dux Dine, enjoyed both meals but the standout was breakfast. The Akaroa hot smoked salmon was fantastic, not too often you get treated to house smoked produce, very very good, thank-you!

For the vegetarians this is one venue where everything on the menu is in your frame of reference, a nice treat for some when sometimes options can be limited.

Thanks Dux Dine....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KnightInBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hello KnightInBrisbane
Thank you for visiting us here at Dux Dine and Christchurch on the whole, even though it was business.
Comments such as yours are always great to receive and that you felt compelled to come back twice in one trip speaks volumes for us.
We trust your business was successful and that you fine the excuse to come back and visit Christchurch again (and of course Dux Dine) very soon
Best regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Lovely old colourful lit up restaurant in an old villa. Always jam packed, you need to book! Great Menu on an old photograph of Christchurch. Great pan fried fish and the eggplant dish is awesome. A cool vibe, it feels like you are in a house, with lots of cool painted feature walls and picture frames as well as fire places.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarinaMj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hello MarinaMj
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us here at Dux Dine. It's awesome to get feedback and especially from our guests who obviously dine frequently.

We sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Christchurch and hope to see you back with us some time in the very near future.

Best regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dux Dine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dux Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing