We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the maddening crowd”
Review of Dux Dine

Dux Dine
Ranked #22 of 1,019 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dux Dine is a reflection of the past but a move into the future. A contemporary feeling, with fresh local seafood and vegetarian delights, Dux Dine has plenty to offer. Our delicious New Zealand wines and Dux craft beers are certainly a crowd pleaser. Dux Dine is situated in a historic turn-of-the-century Villa that was originally the Station Masters House for the Riccarton Railway. The villa has been extensively but sympathetically reworked to provide a variety of spaces to be enjoyed whether it be an intimate candlelit dinner for two, a large group celebration at one of the huge Kauri tables, grabbing a morning coffee at the breakfast bar, enjoyi Dux Dine has many reminiscences of the iconic Dux de Lux yet new and fresh while remaining comfortably familiar. Many of the old favourites can be seen on the menu as well as exciting fresh new foods and ideas. Dux Dine offers many setting options, from relaxing in a lounge, formal table setting to sitting in our sun drenched court yard. Whether it be a small group, special lunch or dinner, corporate event, product launch or company celebration we can cater for your needs. As a company we are passionate about supporting the local businesses around us. The seafood served in the restaurant is frequently sourced from Akaroa, Stuart Island and the West and East Coast including Southern Glory Oysters. With the ever changing environment, Dux Dine is pleased to say that we are environmentally friendly. Coffee cups, take away containers, and menus are all recycled.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our impromptu meal here, just arrived in Christchurch and wanted somewhere nice to eat, I found this fine restaurant on trip advisor and just turned up no booking - no worries, we were given a table on the enclosed balcony. Staff member explained specials, got us a bottle of a good Waipara Riesling at a reasonable price, very nice. We ordered the blue cod meal this was cooked perfectly with a salsa verde ,green beans and potato gratin, again at a reasonable price. We didn't need to order sides as there was ample to satisfy us. Then dessert which we probably didn't need, but why not - I had the best creme brûlée which was the best I had eaten in a very long time,this with a piquant side of orange segments - perfect. My husband enjoyed their cheese platter, a great selection for the price as well.
A lovely evening without a lot a hubba bubba background noise and drama. Well done to all the staff.

Thank Queenie-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
There are newer reviews for Dux Dine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 659 of 741 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our dining experience was excellent from beginning to end. The decor is relaxing, the service was excellent, and the food delicious.
From the moment we walked into the Dux Dine we were impressed - we were seated on the veranda - our choice - and the wait staff were attentive without being over the top. The drinks arrived promptly and the courses at reasonable intervals. We did not feel rushed as you often do at some restaurants. We had fish and it was beautifully cooked and presented. Definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Aotearoanz
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. we and humbled by your comments and absolutely thrilled you had such an enjoyable time with us.
to solve your challenge of choosing your dishes, I can only suggest you return again and again to try all we have to offer.
Sincere regards
Team Dux Dine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

There was nothing we didn't like, the menu had an enticing choice. We were there for brunch and it was a struggle to choose. The food was excellent and very good attentive service.

Thank Tabqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Tabqc
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are very proud of the majority of reviews posted and always take satisfaction in hearing peoples personal opinions such as yours.
We sincerely hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

excellent service, great wine list and wonderful fish and vegetarian choices. had been recommended by motelier and separately by my daughter.

1  Thank 909Gillian_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hello 909Gillian_M
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and we are all very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.
We hope you enjoyed your visit to Christchurch and that you will return in the near future.
Kind regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was really looking forward to dining at this restaurant because of the reviews I have read and the decor of the place is beautiful. Unfortunately, my meal was awful. It ended up being fish covered in tartare sauce with a crunchy top. Looked great, tasted yuck. I had to scrap the sauce off to make it edible but the fish was just bland anyway. I suggest you order pizza from this place, as the kids meals looked fine. It ended up being the most expensive meal we had in NZ and also the worse.

Oh, and I hope they have fixed the faulty blinking light in the front room - that was fun too :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Sue Z
We are very disappointed you didn't enjoy your experience with us at Dux Dine recently. The Baked Lime & Coriander Crusted Fish is one of the more popular dishes from the seafood main options with repeat guests ordering this often. I understand you found the fish bland without the sauce and crust however the tartare is needed to sustain the lime and coriander. That said I will discuss with chef to ensure the amount of sauce is applied as it is possible this was not consistent. Comparatively our prices are three to five dollars less than other similar style restaurants for similar style dishes in Christchurch and more so than other NZ cities.
We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to New Zealand and hope the overall experience was a relaxing and enjoyable one.
Sincere regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dux Dine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dux Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing