We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Dux Dine

Dux Dine
Ranked #56 of 1,152 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dux Dine is a reflection of the past but a move into the future. A contemporary feeling, with fresh local seafood and vegetarian delights, Dux Dine has plenty to offer. Our delicious New Zealand wines and Dux craft beers are certainly a crowd pleaser. Dux Dine is situated in a historic turn-of-the-century Villa that was originally the Station Masters House for the Riccarton Railway. The villa has been extensively but sympathetically reworked to provide a variety of spaces to be enjoyed whether it be an intimate candlelit dinner for two, a large group celebration at one of the huge Kauri tables, grabbing a morning coffee at the breakfast bar, enjoyi Dux Dine has many reminiscences of the iconic Dux de Lux yet new and fresh while remaining comfortably familiar. Many of the old favourites can be seen on the menu as well as exciting fresh new foods and ideas. Dux Dine offers many setting options, from relaxing in a lounge, formal table setting to sitting in our sun drenched court yard. Whether it be a small group, special lunch or dinner, corporate event, product launch or company celebration we can cater for your needs. As a company we are passionate about supporting the local businesses around us. The seafood served in the restaurant is frequently sourced from Akaroa, Stuart Island and the West and East Coast including Southern Glory Oysters. With the ever changing environment, Dux Dine is pleased to say that we are environmentally friendly. Coffee cups, take away containers, and menus are all recycled.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was really looking forward to dining at this restaurant because of the reviews I have read and the decor of the place is beautiful. Unfortunately, my meal was awful. It ended up being fish covered in tartare sauce with a crunchy top. Looked great, tasted yuck. I had to scrap the sauce off to make it edible but the fish was just bland anyway. I suggest you order pizza from this place, as the kids meals looked fine. It ended up being the most expensive meal we had in NZ and also the worse.

Oh, and I hope they have fixed the faulty blinking light in the front room - that was fun too :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Sue Z
We are very disappointed you didn't enjoy your experience with us at Dux Dine recently. The Baked Lime & Coriander Crusted Fish is one of the more popular dishes from the seafood main options with repeat guests ordering this often. I understand you found the fish bland without the sauce and crust however the tartare is needed to sustain the lime and coriander. That said I will discuss with chef to ensure the amount of sauce is applied as it is possible this was not consistent. Comparatively our prices are three to five dollars less than other similar style restaurants for similar style dishes in Christchurch and more so than other NZ cities.
We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to New Zealand and hope the overall experience was a relaxing and enjoyable one.
Sincere regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 763 of 849 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had not been to New Zealand for a couple of years and were so happy to hear that the Dux had reopened! It is in a charming old house off of Riccarton Road and we had a lovely meal there. It was a large family gathering and they set up a table for us on the porch which was perfect since we had a number of children in tow. The kids had easy access to the gardens which allowed them to burn off a bit of the predinner wait energy and allowed the adults a bit of time to talk. The food was wonderful - many different things were ordered for the table and all were extremely happy with their meals. We are looking forward to our next return to New Zealand already have the Dux on our list of places to eat when we return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Acebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A new location in an old house but modernised and extended. Fantastic indoor outdoor options for summer but veranda can be cold in winter. An excellent menu and reasonable parking.

Thank ChrisChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hello ChrisChristchurch
We're so pleased you enjoyed your experience here at Dux Dine and sincerely hope to see you back again some time in the near future.
Best Regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We were there for late breakfast.
Beautiful old colonial house was the setting and food excellent. I had nice porridge and rhubarb, my wife had smoked salmon and had the biggest smile on her face. Top class

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timgblenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hello timgblenheim, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our restaurant. we do hope to see you back in the very near future
Best regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Have just dinned at Duxdine-Real lovely atmosphere, warm and cosy, the food was really nice. Flat bread with dips/spreads, made on site, beautiful fish and halloumi fritters, no room to sample the desserts. Will try that next time. Lovely staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Holiday591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dux Dine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dux Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing