We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its name!”

Pedro's House of Lamb
Ranked #1 of 977 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A tender whole lamb shoulder cooked slowly over 4-5 hours, with garlic and rosemary to bring out the delicious flavour. Served with scalloped potatoes. TAKEAWAY
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lives up to its name!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were lazy to go out for dinner on our last day of stay in New Zealand and decided to go for Pedro's Lamb after seeing it on a newspaper feature. With high expectations, we ordered the lamb shoulder to share for 2 - the only option to order in the menu! And yes, the meat is just so succulent and soft, the smell so addictively appetizing. Highly recommended

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank normanjwanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    140
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lamb of my dreams”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Pedro's house of lamb is not a fancy restaurant but a humble takeaway truck.
$35 for a lamb shoulder with potatoes gratin (serves 2), or $50 for a whole leg (serves 4).
But what lamb! What potatoes! A meal that will be remembered for years!
My father in law used to cook such lamb, and the whole family eagerly gathered to savour it. Pedro's lamb is succulent, savoury, comforting, and memorable. And Pedro's, even in this little truck, deservedly ranks No1 on Trip Advisor!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“MUY BUENO, hombre”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Pedro is one of those wonderful Christchurch Spaniards (Madrilleno) who never fails to please. I loved it when he decided to open his HOUSE of LAMB in a Caravan off Papanui Road. We have eaten his lamb dishes on several occasions and it is a meal for 4 at least. What about Roast Sucking P{ig, Senor Pedro, Muchas Gracias, Pedro T

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great take away "fast food"”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Four and a half star. Worth the try and deserve its top ranking. Tried the lamb shoulder for the first time, $35 and good for two. Would love to try the 1.8kg lamb leg with a price tag of $50 if we have bigger group next time!

Helpful?
1 Thank reefrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious lamb”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Have had takeaways from Pedro's several times and they never disappoint. Lamb is always cooked beautifully and the creamy potatoes are great

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedro's House of Lamb also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Pedro's House of Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing