We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers were incredible!”
Review of Burgers and Beers

Burgers and Beers
Ranked #71 of 991 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Burgers were incredible!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

5 of us walked in and were lucky to get a table it was that packed!
A choice of indoor or outdoor dining aswell.
Staff were friendly but somewhat rushed and pushy in taking orders; obviously because of how busy they were!
Only one complaint from all of us - the dipping gravy for the chips was average.
Burgers were delicious and huge!
Would gladly go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misskridz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    67
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I love Burgers and Beers and try to visit at least once a month. The food is always great and really good value - We get the Anti Macking campaign which I recommend. Sometimes it is really busy and hard to get a table, but its worth the wait! The takeaway service is also great. The atmosphere is really cool in both the Colombo street and Cranford street branches.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Burgers n Beers offer the best bird manue”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We both animal lovers, when we first saw the bird manue were a bit shock, soon realized it was the Chicken burger. Whot a relief to know. The Burgers are juicy and yummy. What we enjoy the most, because they close late a night. Also only a short walk from the B&B (Designer Cottage) we stayed. This eatuing place was highly recommended by the B&B host. True enough it was lovely.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JasonOng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent burger joint. Def worth a visit.”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Burgers and beer was packed when we arrived, but managed ti find a table with out to much fuss. Casual laid back atmosphere, there was a slight wait but there is a good selection of beers so was not a problem. The food was very good and chips esp good. Like british chip shop chips. Big selection of burgers and vegi alternatives available. If in chch go here. Does what it says on the tin!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indaliomanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

When we arrived it was busy which is a good sign to me of a restaurant. That's where the positives ended....

We had to hunt someone to ask for a table but we were told to "help ourselves" and the "menus are over there". We had a look through the menu which is vast and also includes a salad.

It took 30 minutes for our meals to arrive. Our order number was screamed out and the food given to us in paper bags!! We ordered their "fast becoming famous Chips and Gravy" I'm not sure why they are becoming famous as the gravy came in a pot and was freezing and the chips, although crunchy, had so much cheap "crisp" flavouring on them I am pretty sure the lid had come off the shaker!

The fish burger was tasteless and had no seasoning or any flavour at all.

For 2 people - 2 Burgers, 2 chips (Chips and burger ordered separately for go know reason) and 2 drinks came to $57.

Cheap and uncheerful. I would go to McDonalds!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgers and Beers also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Burgers and Beers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing