We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food with a smile”

Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #16 of 966 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sophisticated, sociable and relaxed, Fiddlesticks Bar & Restaurant is Christchurch's newest retreat. This distinctive centrally located restaurant and bar provides an inviting atmosphere in which to while away some time. Watch the street side activity while soaking up the ambiance in front of a roaring outdoor fire in our well sheltered courtyard, or join friends in one of the intimate dining spaces.Providing in-season, sensational local fare, the talented kitchen crew offer up a menu of beautifully cooked tasters and intriguing meals. Open from 8am for coffee and pastries, with a full menu served from 11am, or from 9am for brunch on weekends - Fiddlesticks is the perfect place to kick back and unwind in the heart of our city.
Northern Beaches, Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food with a smile”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've been here twice now and the food is excellent, even if it is on the expensive side. There's a good wine list and the staff are very friendly. The open fire gives it a great atmosphere and you can always head to the bar after dinner for more drinks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank fishcuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    350
    92
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice restaraunt with some slightly quirky dishes that were well presented. Maybe slightly overpriced ($$$). Very friendly staff who gave us a nice table in front of the fire. Cosy place with nice food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cinders06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner with old movies”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were attracted by the offer of a free glass of wine as we were staying at the George and particularly appreciated that the wine they gave us was a good one. We stayed for dinner which was excellent and enjoyed the Elizabeth Taylor movie showing near our table. It was a chance encounter, but I would recommend Fiddlesticks to locals and travellers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vivien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice warm dining area with fire. Staff attentive. Lovely, tender steak. Interesting deconstructed desserts! The tiramisu was not at all what my husband expected but still tasty. We enjoyed our evening. Only thing - was served glass of bubbly which was flat and found this surprising in a restaurant of this rating. Shouldn't have to send something like that back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WetaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went there just because it was quite close to the B&B that we stayed. It was quite full when we got in. The service was good. I ordered lamb shoulder with nice presentation and unique flavour. The meat was slightly rough, otherwise it would be perfect. My friend ordered mushroom pasta which was excellent. The pasta was cooked just right and full of mushroom flavour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garfieldHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing