We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally disappointing”
Review of Styx and Stone

Styx and Stone
Ranked #100 of 991 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally disappointing”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had our meal on New Year's and it wasn't particularly busy. Am struggling to understand how this place has had such great reviews. Having eaten here a year ago and getting a bad meal then including an inedible dessert which I refused to pay for, I had high hopes it would have improved. Our salads were old and limp with no dressing even though the menu said they would have. The food was bland and unappetising. Our water jar was filthy with brown scum and the water had bits of brown scum floating in it. My son's chip had a big black thing in it like charcoal which the waiter took away without comment. The staff were apathetic, uncaring and one in particular was rude and arrogant. We'll never come back and I suggest you don't either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    65
    32
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Busy but good”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sign of a good place to eat ? How busy is it….I know it was holiday time but this place was rammed. Great atmosphere. Excellent menu, we went at lunch time and the $10 was excellent value. I can recommend the burgers. One of our party had their signature dish served on a hot stone…… it was fantastic. Good selection of wine at a reasonable price. The service was a bit slow , however, that is a management issue. Owners get more staff to serve and more people in the kitchen. You have a very popular restaurant don't keep punters waiting to long.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeyJude433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money food”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Check out the lunch time special offers. They do a great clam chowder. I would have scored it 5 stars but for the extremely noisy work Christmas party that was taking place while we were there. It was very hard to hear our fellow diners above the racket, but they seemed to be having a great time!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Baileybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a bad Experience”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Yes just a busy resturant food good atmosphere okay i would say this place gets busy later on in evenings, okay for a friday night meal, staff pleasant and polite,would go back

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry and Mar... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked this resturant in late July or early August for our staff function in December. I booked the function room so we could also do presentations away from the usual noise of a resturant. In Nov I was called and told that the room was double booked and that we could not have it. I told the person who called me that I had booked it a while ago and was told that the other booking was done over a month ago. When I informed the person that my biooking was made earlier she suggested that we should meet and did offer me free drinks or something else if we wanted to change our date. I went to the resturant and meet with the manager who then changed her story and told me that the other larger group had booked before me and that the booking was not recorded correctly and that they would have the booking not my group. I was not happy that my booking was not able to proceed and so when I got back to work I complained via email to the resturant. Unfortunately the women who I had spoken to was the one who replied to my email and her reply was both short and unproffessional. I want to warn anyone that is thinking of booking this resturant to ensure that you have something in writing as I have heard that we are not the first group to have this happen to and the women that I dealt with is rude and arrogant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Styx and Stone also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Styx and Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing