We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How do they do it, fresh food to 70 people all at the same time”

Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar
Ranked #9 of 1,019 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Costas Taverna is a place to celebrate the simple joys in life... family, friends, conversation and great food.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Works meal at Costas, fresh cooked food to 70 people in a reasonable time, best staff in town. Best to book as it is a bit out of town and you don't want to have to go somewhere else.

Thank NZCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasteMaster101, Public Relations Manager at Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear NZCitizen

Thank you so much for your comment :) Through many years, and a lot of hard work, our systems and procedures for both front of house and kitchen have made a big difference in how we fulfil our guests' expectations. It makes all our hard work worth while when we receive great comments like yours. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
There are newer reviews for Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 832 of 857 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were regular diners at Costas before the earthquake closed it down and were pleased to hear Costas had reopened albeit at a different location. We were thrilled to find the food was just as fabulous as previous and the staff just as friendly and helpful and the atmosphere relaxed and friendly. We would certainly recommend Costas to anyone wanting a delicious meal in a relaxed setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasteMaster101, Manager at Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Hi there, aotearoanz! Pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with us. :) Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful and prompt with adding my last minute entree request of the 'on fire' cheese when I got food envy seeing it go by. Generous portions and everything was flavoursome. They serve the most gorgeous fluffy pita bread I have ever eaten. I'm sure I'll be dining beneath their starry ceiling again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CloudPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasteMaster101, Manager at Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Hi there, CloudPixie! Thanks for taking the time to review us! Glad you enjoyed our high-quality pita bread. :) Thanks again for your review and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had an absolutely great time at Costas Taverna in December 2012. I'd been waiting for what seemed like ages for the Teverna to re-open after the devastating Christchurch earthquakes.

We booked in for a large group of 17 people. We sat on 2 tables right next to each other so it was still intimate. We had a great time and a great laugh with the staff and other patrons. The place does seem to attract the right crowd and so the atmosphere was excellent.

The pricing was great, even when we'd bought the first drink for everyone in our party and our own food and drink, the bill only came to $214. We even got some free Ouzo frozen shots at the end which sweetened it even more.

I'm now looking for the next excuse to go back there, weather you take the kids or a bunch of mates, it's a fantastic place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RicT85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasteMaster101, Manager at Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Hi there, RicT85! Glad to hear your party of 17 all enjoyed their evening with us! Also, pleased to hear you enjoyed your complimentary Granita shots. :) Thanks for a great review.. hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

There was some misunderstanding about our coffees with Metaxa a side. We come from Holland and we've been in Greece very often (our favorite country). We were delighted to find a Greek restaurant on our last day of holidays. The misunderstanding was solved very well, we appreciated that. The food however, although not always genuine Greek, was really fantastic. My friend ate the best Klefteki and Lamb he had ever eaten. My dish was also perfect.Too bad that we live in Holland otherwise we had come back here very often. Wonderful place, waitresses and food. A beautiful end of our holiday before going back to Holland.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasteMaster101, Manager at Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Hi there, Johanna D! So glad to hear that you had an enjoyable meal with us before your return to Holland! Thanks and hopefully we will see you next time you're in NZ. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing