We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience not to miss!”

Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.23*
and up
Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic...
Ranked #20 of 104 Tours in Christchurch
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our short visit to Christchurch proved to be a very eventful and productive experience when we jumped on the Grand Tour. Starting from pickup at our accommodation in town, we went around in a bus to the punting, gardens tour, gondola and the tram, riding along with an extensive commentary given by our driver Dave, an ex-teacher with a relaxed demeanour. Along the way to each activity, we he explained the history and the constantly changing landscape of the city, as well as the suburbs out towards the coast. Although lunch is not supplied on the tour, the driver recommended us to grab some lunch from the café at the top of the gondola, which proved to be delicious and was supplemented with a great view of the harbour and the city. We were also pleasantly surprised with being supplied with bottled water and a free key ring gift to remind us of our great experiences of the journey.

2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed the tour and commentary as well as the visits to our attractions. I will pass on your comments about the tour to your driver Dave as well as to the cafe staff at the Gondola. Thank you for choosing to take our Grand Tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bus driver"
in 7 reviews
"avon river"
in 12 reviews
"botanical gardens"
in 14 reviews
"summer beach"
in 2 reviews
"red rock cafe"
in 2 reviews
"perfect weather"
in 2 reviews
"informative commentary"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 4 reviews
"reg"
in 8 reviews
"caterpillar"
in 10 reviews
"punt"
in 8 reviews
"gondola"
in 31 reviews
"rebuilding"
in 8 reviews
"hop"
in 6 reviews
"earthquake"
in 20 reviews
"highlights"
in 4 reviews
"overview"
in 3 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 70 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

still sad to see the devastation in Christchurch BUT take the Christchurch Grand Tour with www.welcomeaboard.co.nz -- was just fantastic - covered gardens, tram, gondola and the best punting experience, so relaxing --- highly recommend

Thank accomodationreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for taking our Grand Tour, and for taking the time to review our attractions. We're so happy to hear your day with us was interesting and relaxing. Thank you for recommending us, and we hope you can visit Christchurch again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Grand Tour in Christchurch is a unique experience to visit the different facets of this town in its lovely environment. The driver (on our tour it was Ray) provided an excellent overview about the town while driving through various parts of the city, also explaining the impact of the past earthquakes, and leading to the lovely highlights such as the Punting tour on the Avon, the tour through the impressive Botanical Garden by caterpillar transportation, the Gondola tour on top of the Port Hills, and finally the ride on the historic Tram of Christchurch. We recommend this phantastic tour to all visitors of Christchurch.

Alex and Anna, Basel, Switzerland

1  Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time on the Grand Tour, and thank you for recommending our tour to others. I will pass on your comments to your driver and the staff our attractions to let them know how much you enjoyed your day. Thank you for taking the time to review us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only had one day in Christchurch and this was well worth doing. Thanks to Ian our driver for such an informative tour, we learnt so much in a short space of time. Punting on the Avon was a wonderful experience (thanks Cyrus), travelling through the city and surrounds was a real eye opener (post quake), gondola was enjoyable and the trip through the botanical gardens really relaxing. We only had a day but felt like we came away really having experienced the best that Christchurch had to offer and having learnt a lot as well.

1  Thank thorus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Grand Tour. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Grand Tour and got to enjoy Christchurch in the one day that you had here. Your comments have been forwarded to Ian and the other staff. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand and we look forward to seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We took the tour on a quiet day, with only half a dozen other people. Nevertheless, the guide was fantastic and highly knowledgable. We visited several of Christchurch's main attractions including the gondola, botanic gardens and punted down the Avon river. All of these are good attractions in their own right. We also were driven through the city and down to the seaside town/suburb of Sumner. The extent of the damage which Christchurch suffered in the earthquakes is quite evident and was a common theme of the tour. Unfortunately quite a few buildings and attractions, such as the art gallery, are closed for repairs or rebuilding, but I don't feel that this detracted from the tour. Christchurch is a nice little city and this tour was a great way to explore it with a local guide.

The tour itself does not include a visit to the Canterbury museum but it does depart from there. I would suggest arriving a little early (perhaps one hour early) and visiting the museum.

When you consider everything that is included, the tour is good value for money (although lunch is not included). I would not hesitate to recommend the Grand Tour to visitors of all ages.

2  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you Matt for such a lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time on the Grand Tour and enjoyed visiting Christchurch. And thank you for recommending our tour to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing