We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty meaty fare”
Review of Gorilla - CLOSED

Gorilla
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Barbecue, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The home of the CharCo (charcoal tacos). Fabulous beers on tap. Good, Simple, Local.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“tasty meaty fare”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The menu has quite a bit of emphasis on shared plates, and we were warned by the waitress not to over do it. Having navigated through this we ordered a selection of different meat dishes. Disappointed that the pork hocks were sold out even though it was only 7pm. All food was delicious especially the charcos. The service was friendly although the wait between the dishes was long - and when the dishes are quite small, there was eagerness for more food to arrive. An enjoyable night out, good value - less wait would be good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma-Tsultrim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We purchased a Grab One coupon for Gor:lla, although we planned on visiting long beforehand. My only complaint is that booking was a nightmare. Only a certain amount of Grab One tables could be booked per night (I guess), and it took three tries to even get a reservation ahead of time. I also wish the staff had been a bit more friendly/helpful. I felt like since we had a coupon, we were second class.

HOWEVER...

The food is what matters when eating out, and the food was fantastic. We had the lamb appetizer, which looked a little bit like tater-tots, but tasted like heaven! The "charcos" are divine, seriously couldn't decide if the Huevos Rancheros or the Pulled Pork was tastier. A whole grilled flounder was my main dish, and it was super easy to peel off the skin and eat, yum! Lastly, the hubby had steak, and it was fantastic.

The wine was also great, and the list looked pretty good. The service left a bit to be desired, but we went for the food! Yum!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KFellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to eat MEAT!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I'd been wanting to eat here a while, and a Grab One coupon prompting me to get along and sample it. We loved the food, the Charco's are lovely - especially the Philly Cheese one. Basically everything we ate was delicious and can't wait to head back. You can tell that some meats are well marinated by the strong flavorsome taste.
I suggest you go try it out :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bosha_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had a great evening here the atmosphere was great and the food was excellent and so tasty.,..that combined with the lovely wine. Just a great gourmet experience. The service was great and also funny. Thanks Gorilla Bar!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnydaz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, Great service”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went to Gorilla tonight. Really enjoyed it. The menu was not what we expected. We had a pork hock to share in a delicious sauce. We also had a warm beetroot salad with goats cheese and almonds, roast potatoes and a rocket and pear salad.(yum)
This meal was delicious and satisfying, however the friendly service from the Welsh waitress made a really great experience. She is a really enthusiastic, friendly girl. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lonelydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorilla also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing