We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best thai you can get”
Review of Merry Thai

Merry Thai
Ranked #563 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the best thai you can get”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Top people, best the Thai food i have eaten ,nothing i did not like will be back ,love that place.nice tasty food very good value for money ,mild or you can have it Thai hot .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    5
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food in pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We ate at the Merry Thai recently with a group of friends on a Friday night. The restaurant was full but the service was swift and efficient. The food was very reasonably priced and mostly very good. I'd particularly recommend the garlic pepper calamari as the best I've ever tasted but the pad thai was average - tasty enough but a bit soggy and not particularly appetising looking. We took our own wine - being able to BYO is a real bonus these days. Overall, a great meal and very inexpensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Domichne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Busy and delicious”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place is great, not expensive and really delicious. There are still not too many choices in Christchurch though Merivale was not so much damaged in the earthquakes and there are several very good restaurants nearby, It is a lively area and Merry Thai is fun and busy. Do reserve so you can get a table - and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oli h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value Thai resutant in a good location”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This resturant is well priced and its always easy to get a table. Often in Merivale the resturants are packed and you have to wait a long time for average food.

Sure this is not as good as eating out in Thailand but you get a reasonable thai meal at a reasonable price and the resturant is tidy, clean and has nice lighting and best of all no thumping music.

The staff are very obliging and polite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yum food in unpretentious surrounds”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just finishing a weekend in Christchurch and only had the chance to eat out once. Friends took me to the Merry Thai on Papanui Rd in Merivale. The place was obviously popular as it filled up even on a e Monday night. The food arrived promptly and was delicious, light and piquant with great flavours. Most meals around the $18 NZ mark. I found the service and food to be good and would go again. BYO too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank outriggerkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merry Thai also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Merry Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing