We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated with love, interest, care and loads of relaxation!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shunyata Health Retreat / Day Spa
Reviewed August 3, 2013

What an amazing place Shunyata is. If you are looking for a friendly, homely retreat with special attention....then this is the place for you. Paru is welcoming and awesome at her job. She superbly takes you through The Journey, massages, treatments, yoga, sauna.....and so much more. Paru is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about what she does. I learnt so much from her!
Shunyata is an awesome for some quality self improvement and some R and R. GREAT food too.
thanks Paru!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paru_12, Owner at Shunyata Health Retreat / Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Kate you came at a truly busy time when I wasn't well myself and your kind words and
amazing willingness and courage to change your life truly touched me. I feel your life
is about to take an amazing turn - deeper, more fun like and joyous because you deserve.

Keep sharing that gorgeous kindness to the world

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 70 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

This month I just returned from my second retreat at Shunyata. It was as magnificent as the first retreat. I had found what I learnt from the first retreat, benefit me still and culminated in my overall improved health and wellbeing. The accomodation is just too good to be true, and the views from the rooms, of snow-capped mountains - are something from a story book. The rooms are kept toasty warm through the winter days and nights, with a log fire each night (excellent for your evening meditation and dinner).
I did the liver de-tox and weigtloss retreats each time. It is a joy to have someone else cook and serve you for a whole week! The food is yummy and the owner is flexible and accomodates you tastes - all menus and activities are chosen by the guest.
I chose Shunyata from other retreats in Australia/Asia as the owner was quick to repsond to my emails and I felt that I could trust her - considering I was booking from Australia. Retreats in Australia are at least double the cost of Shunyata retreats (with airfare) - so I am more than happy to recommend people in Oz to travel to this NZ retreat as it is value for money and value for your health and wellbeing.
Each visit I was able to totally rest with 8-10 hour sleeps at night and afternoon naps. The environment and treatments encourage you to "let go" of stress/worry and live in the present time.
Both visits I was happy with my weight loss, I could have excercised more and lost more, however that was not my main aim, which was to relax and enjoy the top quality service.
The one-to-one service gives clients the choice of treatments and meals, while the owner is very astute to provide the guest with enough privacy at all times. This is a skill not all people have and what set this retreat apart from others is you are given time to yourself, for yourself - and the owner gently guides you through the daily routine.
I would like to return to Shunyata in a year or two, and hope that many other people take this opportunity to benefit from the resort and stunning surrounding Diamond Harbour.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rach g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paru_12, Owner at Shunyata Health Retreat / Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Rachel wanted different things this time around - so we accommodated her accordingly.
It was lovely to combine, health, healing and rest for you this time and would always
love you back as you truly receive and use Shunyata in the most healthy way,
Love to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I feel fantastic after the time I spent with Paru...emotionally and physically! This a wonderful retreat of healing and discovery. I went there with a heavy heart, homesick for family and friends, and a tempremental digestive system. Paru brought peace and friendship, as well as figuring out the cause of my digestive issues! I experienced a lovely warm sauna, whilst watching the snow outside fall on the mountains....yoga....a warm fire, as I ate delicious home cooked food.... massage, hydrobath and of course, The Journey, which has set me free to live without fear! Thank you Paru, I will return x

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellsbells96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paru_12, Owner at Shunyata Health Retreat / Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Was amazing to have you here and see how quickly you got it after many years of the spiritual search When the student is ready the teacher appears and this has been my journey as well.
Love to you and hope to see you again beautiful being.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was so lucky to have 4 nights at Paru's amazing piece of paradise in Diamond Harbour. Having had a very stressful few months I thought I would seek out a place of peace and solace. I certainly got that and more! I don't think I have ever felt so spoilt and so looked after ever. I indulged myself in everything Paru had to offer and I feel amazing! With her wonderful direction through the Journey I have been able to unblock and KEEP UNBLOCKED, some pretty interesting "fears". 10 days later I still feel calm and am surprising myself with my gentle assertiveness! (and believe me, that is NOT how I would have described myself in the past - aggressive yes, assertive no!). It feels GREAT to allow myself to be me . . . warts and all! Apart from all that stuff (!!) I indulged myself in wonderful steam treatments, massage, cranial, facials, yoga, meditation, DVD's, walks along the coastal walkway and trips to the beach with Paru and crew, and YES - swimming! It was amazing. THANK YOU Paru. You have helped me shift some very old "stuff" and I will always be grateful. Aside from that, my skin is amazing and I feel great! Bless you! I am ABSOLUTELY coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paru_12, Owner at Shunyata Health Retreat / Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

I opened Shunyata for this reason - Sally had been on a journey for many years but was
ready to jump to the next level - her higher self - she became the finder and not the seeker
love to u Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had a wonderful experience of Shunyata’s ‘Ultimate Bliss Retreat’ – it definitely lived up to its name!
The Journey experience and ‘live in’ counselling have assisted me to heal, discover my true self and to live each day with a smiling happy face.
The meals Paru prepared were amazing, my appetite and love of food has now returned after months of uninspired and dysfunctional eating.

Paru, you are an amazing woman and I thank you for your time, wisdom and healing hands.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JojoH140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paru_12, Owner at Shunyata Health Retreat / Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Was so gorgeous to see you dive into your true self and let behind the story. You made me
remember why I love my work. Love to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was a wonderful experience at Shunyata. Paru gives of herself 110% and is a very wise and charismatic woman. I did the detox/liver cleanse and found that my mind was also 'detoxed' whilst spending time with Paru. Paru's passion and skill of passing on the best of what she has discovered on her own journey is very evident.

I highly recommend this unique experience, particularly in a world where time is money. It is completely the opposite at Shunyata and you leave feeling lighter in body and spirit. Do it! Catherine Bos

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATHERINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My adult daughter and I started our NZ vacation with a 2 day gentle, peaceful, relaxing, nuturing and deep spiritual journey at Shunyayta. Paru was completely present and treated us like gods, preparing us incredible meals, in an exquisite setting. Shunyata is a beautiful and quiet place to gather your authentic self. Paru is the real deal. I feel I've truly made some big shifts in my personal journey through her sincere and attentive guidance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paru_12, Owner at Shunyata Health Retreat / Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you girls - I knew that you were holding some grief after your loss so what a beautiful way to start a holiday to clear this out.

It was gorgeous to meet you both and good luck to your lives as you step forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
8.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,027 reviews
9.7 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
8.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#134 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#3 of 108 in Christchurch
502 reviews
13.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shunyata Health Retreat / Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shunyata Health Retreat / Day Spa

Address: 10 Rawhiti Street, Christchurch 8972, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Health & Healing Retreat in banks peninsula NZ,one on one specializing in wellness & holistic health & healing. Come for a day spa or retreat from 2 days onwards. An Ayurvedic detox, fast weight loss & heal totally. Great for depression and anxiety. Includes Yoga retreat, meditation,ozone therapy, The Journey. Best value retreat in Australasia.Emotional Healing with The Journey & NLPAyurvedic detox & lose weight fast the healthy wayCouples Retreats with 3 course romantic dinnerDay Spa in peaceful ocean view surroundings doing more than massageBody work including cranio sacral balancingYoga, Meditation, ozone sauna & hydrotherapy bath ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing