We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Porchetta Papanui

La Porchetta Papanui
Ranked #649 of 952 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Been once, never again, dirty, no service what so ever, food very average. Would not reccommend a second visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blackie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    17
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Average pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Ordered a pizza to share, but there was very little taste, and had to keep putting salt and pepper on it to season it.

Service was a bit hit and miss as well.

Wont hurry back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_H46H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We took our two young children to La Porchetta for dinner one evening. We were seated near the play area. To be honest, the play area was quite boring, the dvd they had playing played one short clip over and over with no sound and there really wasnt anything there for the children to play with. However, the staff were quick to take our orders and the food came in good time. One child had a pizza which he said was the best, I had a caesar salad which was ok....a bit too much dressing. Over all we enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best food in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The food was really really good large servings of everything and really atentive staff. We had a man called ben and he was great

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bigmpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good value, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

the pizza was delicious, the service was friendly, the place was buzzing, and it was cheap! good value

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porchetta Papanui also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to La Porchetta Papanui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing