We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Paragon Bush Inn - CLOSED

Spice Paragon Bush Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a very nice restaurant. We have been to Spice Paragon many times now and we always have a very great time. We have tried many dishes on the menu and have some favorites we love. We often start with the Salt n Pepper Squid or the Prawn Pancakes. There are many mains we really enjoy so hard to pick our favorites but certainly suggest trying... Steamed beef rib with young coconut, Green curry of Groper, Red curry of roasted duck...wow the curry is sooo delicious! The size of the meals are very generous. Delicious cocktails must try! The desert creme brulee and tiramisu tasted amazing! This place is always packed so you really need to book ahead. Looking forward to our next time here.
Highly recommend this restaurant to everyone who wants to experience new style Thai food ^^.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trippin-on-paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    74
    34
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Service far too quick”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great atmosphere and food but service far to quick for a restaurant with a menu and prices like they have. We had a table of 4 on a Sat night booked for 8pm - entree & main served within 30 mins of sitting down. Not an especially relaxing dinner experience and one more suited to my local cheap BYO thai or indian. Staff seemed to have a deadline to get everyone out by a certain time, cleaning was very obvious and noisy

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
692 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“GREAT FUSION OF FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Really nice set-up with a mix of open tables or private tables. Great variety on the menu and was some excellent tastes across various offerings sampled.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went for lunch today and really enjoyed the food. We had the salt and pepper squid and the mango salad for our starters and they were absolutely delicious. Lovely clear fresh flavours and quite big portions. For the mains we had shrimp paste fried rice with sticky pork, it was beautifully presented and the meat was amazing. The rice was a little under-seasoned though. We also had a chicken coconut curry, which was super-tender chicken in a Thai style broth, really really delicious. Although I usually go for dessert ( and they looked fantastic) I was too full...next time, hopefully. Although the restaurant is regularly booked out for dinner, the place was only half full today. My only criticism was the really casual service, staff were just a bit too laid back with us, it didn't feel particularly 'special'. However we'll be back regularly for the great food and reasonable prices. We got two entrees and two mains for $50:50, which is great value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChChLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Fusion food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ordered 6 dishes to share amongst a few us. Every dish was great but I must say the roast duck in curry is a bit "bony". Not much meat on the duck. Service was good. place can be a bit noisy as the tables were all close together. would prefer a bit more spaces in between. Overall, worth a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenjen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Paragon Bush Inn also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing