We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay over the earthquake weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chardonnay Motor Lodge
Ranked #102 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Following the Canterbury earthquake, we were unable to stay in our city centre hotel. Luckily I found this motel online and managed to book a room for the night. Upon arrival, we were very impressed with the level of service, given how busy they were.

We were shown to our well-appointed room where all features were explained. Restaurants were recommended and the owner even drove us to the car rental company in the morning!

This motel is EXCELLENT value for money and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2010

This is a lovely quiet motel to stay at in Christchurch. However the winery venue next door has weddings often on a Saturday, and depending on the Wedding could keep you awake till midnight. The first time we stayed there was no noise from the wedding, the second time we stayed they had a band - and this could be heard - although not too loudly, as there is hush glazing - till midnight. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on a weeknight though. It wasn't enough to dampen our stay, but something to be aware of if you need to get to bed early, or have to get up early the next morning. The rooms are well appointed, with a small bench top oven/hotplate, and microwave for cooking. Lovely outlook and gardens, and expansive lawn.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archicatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donladson, Owner at Chardonnay Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2010

Firstly, many thanks to this guest for their review. We are delighted that their stay was pleasant.

Regarding wedding noise from next door, this has been an issue on some occasions in the past. We have endeavoured to work with our neighbour to maintain a reasonable noise level, and can usually arrive at a compromise.

Further - I am happy to report that the business next door has now ceased operations, so we are now noise free as of April 2010.

I hope that we can be of service to you at some time in the future and please bet assured of our best attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We stayed there on our last night in New Zealand and chose it for the location close to the airport and the free shutte in the morning. We arrived around 5pm and spent a very nice afternoon taking advantage of the badminton/volley court and of the bikes you can borrow for free and ride in the recreation park behind the lodge. The room was very nice and the service great. The owner even offered to drive us to a local restaurant for dinner!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandNUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

The Chardonnay Lodge is a welcoming surprise. It is very close to the airport, and a selection of food outlets including supermarkets. There are several different styles of restaurants very close to the Lodge that can easily cater for the young / teenage family through to the romantic and quiet.
A beautiful open park area is tucked away just behind the Lodge, and the views over towards the park is lovely. The 3 bedroom villa is wonderful for an extended family or family travelling with older children. There is room enough for everyone to have their own space. Terry and Louise are superb hosts, that ensure all guests are made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAnnePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We also stayed on our last night in New Zealand. The kitchenette was well equiped, room & bathroom was clean and it is convenient for early airport departures. It's also easy to find coming in to Christchurch from the south along the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller5360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Absolutely top service with hosts going above and beyond to fulfill needs of guest.
Rooms clean , tidy , roomy and all amenities available
Handy enough to supermarkets, pubs and a restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_neill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I stayed at the Chardonnay for 6 nights during a trip to Christchurch from London and I thought it was great. Terry and Louise are the best of hosts - always there to help but not intrusive. The unit I stayed in was large for one person, with french doors opening out to the back garden with great views. Very private if you don't want to be involved with other guests but there is a pleasant barbecue area if you feel like being sociable. It was well-equipped with everything you would need and was immaculate. Plenty of room for parking and close to the airport which was handy. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoCo099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.3 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
287 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
705 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.7 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#42 of 146 in Christchurch
145 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cranford Oak Motel
Cranford Oak Motel
#50 of 146 in Christchurch
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chardonnay Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chardonnay Motor Lodge

Address: 170 Johns Road | Take the Belfast exit from the Motorway and Express Way, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $85 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chardonnay Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chardonnay Motor Lodge is a modern, 4-star motel complex set in spacious grounds with spectacular gardens. Close to Christchurch airport [8km - 8 mins] and only 15 minutes from Christchurch City Centre, Chardonnay Motor Lodge is an idyllic location for your Christchurch vacation. Relax in the tranquil gardens and visit the adjacent Groynes reserve with many walkways, lakes and children's playground to enjoy. During your stay visit the neighbouring Rosebank Winery for delicious food and wine tasting. Chardonnay Motor Lodge offers FREE pick up and drop off at the Christchurch Airport every day as well as a FREE casino shuttle (bookings required). With rooms to suit couples or families, Chardonnay Motor Lodge is a peaceful haven for your next visit to Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chardonnay Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing