We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“External appearance belies internal.”
Review of Aotea Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aotea Motel
Ranked #82 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Do not judge Motel by external design. Internal studios are roomy, spotlessly clean with well equipped kitchen facilities. On busy road but not noisy.Owner/ manager very pleasant & helpful as experienced throughout our 2 trips around N.Z. Very good value in a city that has a shortage of vacancies following earthquake. Can recommend. Handy to lovely Merivale shopping arcade. Say 1.25 kms by car.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2011

We arrived about 3 hours earlier than the check in time of 2pm and the owner was very welcoming and our room was ready. The studio we had was clean and very spacious for the two of us. It was a lovely short walk down the river to the city centre - which we enjoyed. The kitchen was well equipped and it was nice to have a seperate room for the kitchen, living area and bedroom - which we didn't get in the other motels that we stayed in. It was handy to be able to leave the bedroom when I was awake with jet lag in the middle of the night and be able to sit in the living area and watch tv without waking my husband. Would definately recommend this motel to anyone visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKBRVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the first floor of the Aotea. The units are quite spacious and the place is extremely affordable. You are provided a tv, micro, gas, etc and the one bedroom unit can easily accommodate 3 people. The staff was also quite helpful with suggestions on how best we could utilise our 1 day in Christchurch. Only drawback - The motel is kind of far from the cathedral area and hence taking your car to the city center might be required.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelExotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Our room at the Aotea Motel was spotlessly clean and comfortable athough our 2 bed apartment was a little small for the 4 of us - but there's so much to see and do in the area that we were out and about so much that it wasn't a problem. The kitchen facilities were fairly basic - 2 ring hob, micro and fridge but fine for what we needed!

It was a 15 - 20 minute walk into the town centre but we walked along the River from the motel which was quite pleasant and avoided alot of the traffic!

All in all - we enjoyed our stay at the Aotea motel - certainly good value for the price and the owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFC1903uschico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle zimmer liegen in richtung hof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jule112015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#40 of 146 in Christchurch
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#74 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
3.2 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#68 of 146 in Christchurch
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#43 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
693 reviews
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Motel

Address: 302 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $76 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aotea Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aotea Motel has 10 apartment style units available at reasonable prices, studio, 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom & interconnecting units all located close to the CBD. Just a 5 - 10 minute walk gets you into our lovely city following the gorgeous Avon River. Handy to supermarket, restaurant & cafes within minutes or venture into the city for lots of other choices. Our friendly, hospitable home away from home awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aotea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing