We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice host, room and Location”
Review of Holly Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly Manor
Ranked #74 of 141 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Spent the weekend at Holly Manor, we stayed in the Elizibethan room that was roomy, had air con, nice bed, bath and excellent free internet access. Breakfast was also great with both cooked english and cerieal. We had evening meal at the Manor and there is a choice of 3 mains. We both enjoyed the massage that the host has on offer. The service provided was great for the 2 nights that we stayed. Only slightly disapointing thing was our bed wasn't made on the second day. It would be nice if we could use the car parking at the rear of the building but parking on the street was ok for the 2 nights. Overall a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

Looked, felt & tasted great. Themed Elizabethan Room was lovely, spacious and peaceful. Kelly & Nigel gave a welcoming service to ensure we were happy and relaxed. Warm inside even though there was snow on the ground.

Chocolate nibbles by the computer and great cooking for dinner & breakfast.

Do enjoy a massage from Kelly and go to a happy place!

Handy to city centre. Verandah seating overlooks a nice little garden.

Our first experience of a Bed & Breakfast is all good. Finished off nicely with no rush to checkout...

Room Tip: Elizabethan room feels spacious and has a bath ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed when flight cancelled and stranded due to snow. Kelly and Nigel very helpful and understanding. Let me use the drawing room, wifi, tea and biscuits throughout checkout day whilst waiting to see if another flight available. Tasty breakfast. Warm room. Comfy bed. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed at Holly Manor for only one night and will definitely take the opportunity to return when possible. Kelly is the perfect hostess, nothing was any bother. It felt like you were actually in your own home with the exception of doing any of the housework! The rooms are all spotlessly clean with anything you might need for your stay waiting there for you to use. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone wishing for that bit more than a cold unwelcoming hotel/motel room.

The location was also excellent and easy to find.

Room Tip: Contact Kelly - She will help you with your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smurphs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Highly recommended! Great hospitality, VERY comfortable room and bed! Convenient to everything.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
Thank Mishdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

arrived from Australia late afternoon with friends. Property was easy to find & on arrival there was a real feel of genuine welcoming by Matthew. The rooms are wonderful & full of 'Old World Charm'. Once we were settled Matthew explained the workings of 'Chestnuts on Holly', we were offered complimentary sherry/port & nibblies. We were keen for a nice meal & Matthew again offered his vast knowledge of dining locally & we accepted one of his suggestions, No. 4 which turned out to be wonderful. The next morning we met Matthew's Mum Sue & what a wonderful lady she is. The breakfast was served in a lovely dining area & the servings were large, varied & scrumptious. Nothing was a trouble to either Sue or Matthew & from the moment we booked to the moment we left, the place had a wonderful aura about it. The beds & bedding are first class & most comfortable & I highly recommend this property to anyone seeking a lovely quite, well operated property that is only 5 minutes from the City Centre. This property's real strength however lay with it's hosts Matthew & his Mum Sue......they are super friendly, super helpful, super genuine & from these 4 travellers we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Sue's husband Andre is also associated with the business but unfortunately we did not have the pleasure of meeting him; maybe next time.
Les & Bernadette Wilson, Keith & Margaret Towle Wollongong NSW Australia

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We had a great two-night stay at Chestnuts on Holly in Christchurch. The rooms and common areas (including a guest lounge and dining room) were lovely and fairly roomy, and had a very Victorian feel and decor. The location is a bit outside of town center. It's probably a brisk twenty-minute walk to Cathedral Square. However, you can pick up buses to the center of town right down the street from Chestnuts. From what we could tell of the schedule, there's probably something every ten minutes or so.

The service was impeccable. We arrived a little bit early, and our rooms weren't ready yet, but we were able to leave our luggage, and Andre welcomed us and gave us enough information to get on our way. There were a number of nice little touches - our favorite being the muffins that were left in our room each evening - delicious! One member of our party had allergies, and they remembered to warn us about potential problematic ingredients in the muffins. They were also very flexible about our breakfast arrangements - we had requested packed breakfasts so that we could leave early each morning of our stay - we were trying to go ballooning while in Christchurch. Each morning though, ballooning was cancelled due to weather, and Suzy went ahead and cooked breakfasts for all of us as well.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooeythebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.4 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
2,278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Manor

Address: 27 Holly Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 from native New Zealand Kauri, Christchurch’s newest boutique bed and breakfast has been fastidiously restored to its former glory with an added contemporary feel to bring all the facilities expected of a five star accommodation. The tranquil environment has been designed to have all the amenities of the home and the office. Luxury surroundings ensure that your stay, whether for business or pleasure, is one to be remembered. The refurbishment of the property has incorporated all the luxuries, facilities and amenitied expected of a five star accommodation, including LCD TV’s, sky, internet, private lounge and dining area, free wifi and business services. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing