We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strathern Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unpleasant Stay”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I booked here due to reading the reviews, so I feel I was let down. I found the Shower hadnt been cleaned properly, which ruined totally my weekendbefore it started and the fridge didnt seem to be working properly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browne_nzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molloyfamily, Owner at Strathern Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
We acknowledge that occasionally small things slip through the system as everyone is human. Our standard of cleanliness is normally exceptionally high and we pride ourselves on this. In this case, as explained to the guest, we had been out of town for a few days at a funeral and not been in a position to check the units and unfortunately our motel minder had not checked the units. There were a couple of hairs left in the shower, which if the guest had pointed this out at the time, we certainly would have rectified. Our fridges are turned off and cleaned at each departure and in this case our cleaner forgot to turn it back on. Again, instead of waiting and complaining at the end we could have gone in and turned it on for her. The issues with this unit were discussed with the cleaner and she was given a verbal warning as we take every complaint very seriously. We apologised to the guest on departure but there is not much you can do after the fact. The situation regarding the cleaning will certainly not be repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
25
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Owners are so friendly and helpful, directed us to all the great places to dine and sightsee nothing was too much to ask. Services all conveniently located on site. Transport just out on the sidewalk, so handy to all amenities.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed here after the earthquake and we needed a place to stay temporarily while we waited for our house to be inspected. Really accomodating hosts, very understanding and really go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms we stayed in were clean and serviced daily, location close to town and what's great it's pet friendly. Good place o stay!, recommend it.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lotogunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The no refund policy will also apply to anyone not happy with the service or quality of the stay.The location being situated right next door to student accomodation can make for a very loud stay, if you like the sound of the walls bouncing base then perfect for you. Reception is not available after 10.30pm so any problems are yours for the night and once approach regarding any issues the staff may be quite unhelpfull. Oh well we stuck here for 3 more days now :-(

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salty_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I stayed here with my family in July and found it to be perfect for a family, the units are quite large and although a bit dated everything was clean and comfortable. The owners are really friendly they even got our washing in one day when it started to rain! The first thai restaurant just down the road (the blue one) is also great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyadventuresoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

If you are looking at a comfortable, clean motel that has every thing you need then you should definately pick the Strathern Lodge Motel.
My family, friends and I (4 Units) stayed at this motel when we where in town for the funeral of our mother. The owners were so accommodating and caring and nothing was to much trouble.
The decor and the paintings on the wall all blended in perfectly and I thought all the features were tasteful, modern and inviting.
I felt at home with the feel of the units and the hospitality shown and will definately stay at this motel again when next down in Christchurch.
Thanks guys for making us feel welcome and we will definately recommend you to anyone travelling your way.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The Strathern Motel has provided peace of mind and great value during several visits over the last ten years. Even though ownership changed - the location, service, price and environment have always been excellent. My grown children have visited Christchurh on their own and stayed at the Strathern. I've stayed there by myself. Last July my wife, the younger children and I enjoyed eleven days there. One can walk into the heart of Christchurch from Strather's location on Papanui Road (20 min walk); or walk about five blocks to Merrivale Center for suburban shopping. Of course, one can catch the bus or hire a taxi to get around very readily too. We especially enjoyed the option of cooking light meals in our two-bedroom unit (four-burner stove with oven, microwave, pots/pans, pantry, small refrigerator) -- and we saved a small fortune by doing so. Indeed, we were able to visit the butcher shop and grocery store in Merrivale (walked there and back to Strathern with limited items) as necessary. Fabulous exercise for the whole family - much needed for the parents! Washer and dryer facilities on the premises. Newspaper every morning at our door! We also saved a small fortune by residing just outside Christchurch. All-in-all, an immersion in Christchurch suburban living - just a short walk away from city center. WiFi available too!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamtans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#15 of 145 in Christchurch
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#42 of 145 in Christchurch
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
712 reviews
1.5 mi away
Southwark Apartments
Southwark Apartments
#9 of 103 in Christchurch
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 145 in Christchurch
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathern Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathern Motor Lodge

Property: Strathern Motor Lodge
Address: 54 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathern Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Lauraine & Craig take great pride in providing a high standard of comfort and cleanliness and invite you to stay at their Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation in their luxurious, fully self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Their top quality Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation is quiet, warm and features extremely comfortable Queen, King or superking beds. Our central location enables guests to walk to parks,golf courses, restaurants , supermarkets and the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Strathern Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing