We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-frills basic motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Comfort Motel
Ranked #74 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Rooms feel a bit dated and can be noisy if you're at the front with Bealey Ave right outside. But the location is convenient, the owner is personable and they have complimentary wi-fi. Adequate for a night or two.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 113 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

they are considered 4 stars, but i don't know how. it's totally a fine place. good location and quiet. there was a nice little kitchen with utensils and even a french press coffee maker. but the place was dirty. stains on the carpet. linens were not very good. when i left my things at the desk before i left town, it was left out where anyone could just walk off with it. i can't recommend it, but if you just need to crash somewhere, this will do.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PENNsational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This motel is very tired and could do with a makeover. But the proprietor is really pleasant and maintains high standards despite the lack of re-investment. I would recommend that they replace the pillows ASAP and put a full set of wine glasses in the cupboard.

That being said it is a convenient location and close to Hagley Park.

Room Tip: Please note there is no fitness centre or restaurant, but I can't amend the ranking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngaire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is not only badly in need of a facelift, it is also extremely noisy, particularly at night, where an endless stream of boy racers seem to be practicing racing starts at the traffic lights right outside the hotel from about midnight to 3 am most nights! Only think going for it is the rooms are clean & it is close to the centre.

Room Tip: Dont bother, there are far better motels in & around Christchurch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just across the road from the Knox Church and an easy walk to central Christchurch, and to Hagley Park. This isn't fancy and decor is a bit tired but friendly people and a reasonable pool, which was good for summer. Free wifi in 100MB blocks. Kitchen was fine, bathroom modest but OK - soap dispenser in the shower didn't work and the one cake of soap was tiny.

All in all fine for a Christchurch base.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_on_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Not sure what to write about this motel.It was in a great location on Bealey Ave.The manager was very welcoming.We were 2 couples travelling so had a 2 bedroom unit.It was up an outside staircase which was a pain in the rain.The unit is very dated.Carpets were badly stained but felt clean.Bed linen is very dated as is curtains and the bathroom was awful.No ventilation and a deep spa bath whose jets were not clean.Very awkward to climb into to use shower.No lock on bathroom door either.I think the housekeeping could raise the bar alot.Four people staying and 1 tiny bar of soap?The windows were either shut or open right out,great in the wind and rain.It was very humid so we left our bedroom one open and regretted it because of noise from resturant carpark below.Went to all hours.Then at 4am the rubbish truck emptied the bins in same carpark!!Its a shame as this could be spruced up to a really motel as the units are large.

Room Tip: For the rates we paid I would shop around as I thought $200 per night was steep for the motel especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staffydog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We arrived at the motel and were greeted by a lovely lady. We had been upgraded to the 2 bedroom apartment because they had to cater for some other guests who were staying on. We were happy with this.

As previous reviews stated, there was a fully equipped kitchenette and 100Mb worth of free internet.

My biggest bugbear were the stains on the duvet (or doonas for aussies :) ) covers and the stains on the couch. White gross stains :( I took the sheets and extra towels and covered those up, so we could sit on it/sleep in the bed.

I forgot to take pictures! So, sorry...but the stains were really quite disgusting :/

The rest of the apartment was clean. The bathroom, towels, sheets were all clean. I think it was just the stains that put me off...

(we stayed in room 20 :) )

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrZbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#75 of 146 in Christchurch
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#28 of 146 in Christchurch
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#66 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Glen Lodge
Country Glen Lodge
#51 of 146 in Christchurch
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Motel

Address: 53 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $60 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Comfort Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Southern Comfort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Comfort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing