We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well equipped but booking issue wasn't acknowledged”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sherborne Motor Lodge
Ranked #60 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Generally a standard, well equipped motor lodge. Comfortable beds and well equipped kitchenette. Also great was the sky decoder (e.g. you were not limited to 6-7 hotel channels rather had pretty much the whole mainstream Sky line up available). Limited free WIFI available. However, have only given a three star rating as we had booked this via airpoints redemption and had selected a spa bath apartment, however, on arrival we had a standard apartment. We arrived late in the evening and the no vacancy was on so didn't bother making a point about it but it's the managements responsibility to acknowledge these things and set them right (even an acknowledgement at check in or something would have done the trick). Otherwise a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank go0dtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Manager at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

I do apologize for the booking mix-up, which was entirely my fault. Unfortunately I'd forgotten all about the change I'd had to make, when I checked the guests in without referring to the booking info on the computer. When this came to my attention I immediately phoned the room and spoke to the lead guest's elderly father (as I remember) and he said not to worry, the room was fine. Even then I felt the message would go no further but, at that stage, I'd done all I could do. Once again I apologize and I hope that my error/s won't put you off staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 119 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have booked the 2 bedrooms spa and stayed for a few nights. We were reasonably happy with the room size and facilities. It isn't a new building with a modern decor but the staff is very helpful and the cleanness of the apartment was impressive.

Room Tip: If you are after a clean room this one is not too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristtos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Manager at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Yes, we have a very good cleaning staff and we are very pleased with their work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We are travelling around New Zealand for 3 weeks and have stayed in Motels to keep the expenses down to a sensible level. The Sherborne has all the facilities you need to have a good stay with space, good levels of furniture, comfortable beds and surroundings. Kitchen and all associated bits and bobs are all there. The whole place is clean and well looked after, I have no problems with thoroughly recommending this establishment.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Manager at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hey thanks. We try hard to provide everything travelers need in a clean and tidy environment and in a friendly and helpful manner. We'll try to treat you the way we like to be treated when we travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The proprietor Malcolm Graham welcomed us warmly after seeing his Motel advertised in "Last minute" bookings.
We had a quiet well appointed 2 bedroom unit with excellent facilities service and cleanliness.
Free Wi-Fi DVD player etc and a well appointed kitchen and facilities made the stay very comfortable.
The lack of handrails in the disabled bathroom/spa being the only downside.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have little to no road noise and ground floor makes easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thanks for your comments. It's nice to know we get it right sometimes. It is our intention to renovate the spa bathrooms at some stage and we'll give the idea of fitting some extra handrails some thought then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 nights there. Each day we requested our room to be made up and it was fantastic, great standard. We had sky tv, wi-fi and a spa bath. A central location that was quiet and secure. We were never cold as the heating was good. The owners are friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable and it was great to have separate rooms. Modern and compact, perfect if you are busy! It suited our needs and we would stay there again. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thanks for your comments Cherie. :-)
We service occupied rooms every day so it wasn't necessary for you to ask for it to be done. On the contrary, if you DON'T want your room serviced, you need to hang the 'Do not disturb' sign on the door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

hi guys...the motel is not right on the main raod..its around 10-15 mins walk to the centre...there are lots of motels in christchurch n i suggest u really do ur homework before making a choice..
its advertised as free wifi, but then u realise that its not really free!, after 100mb each day any excess usage u have to pay!!
rooms are not big either...heaters are good and was working round the day...
unless u get it for a real bargain, its an overall thumbs down!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prashantgvarghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

If this guest had booked his family into a family unit rather than the cheapest one he could find, he would've found his accommodation roomier. He seems to be implying that he's seen all our rooms - rather than just the one he occupied.
We offer free internet here - but there have to be limits. The cost of providing internet to some guests would be more than they've paid for the room. Who should pay for excessive use? The user? - or all guests through higher room rates?
It is true that Sherborne St is not the busiest street in Christchurch. People who like to sleep at night see this as an advantage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights on a Comfortable Bed! has all the sky channels!! felt right at home. Christchurch is a beautiful city! and this motel is so close to everything! Hagley park had amazing blossom trees! we managed to use there kitchen facillities and cooked every night! GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY! room was serviced every day! the owners were very friendly and helpful!! will definelty be back!! ***** 5 stars from us!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuklandWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks for all your wonderful, positive comments. We try hard to treat people the way we like to be treated when we travel and we try to provide everything in our rooms that our clients might reasonably expect. We look forward to seeing you next time we stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.7 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#44 of 146 in Christchurch
140 reviews
2.7 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#43 of 146 in Christchurch
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Alcala Motor Lodge
Alcala Motor Lodge
#63 of 146 in Christchurch
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
#40 of 146 in Christchurch
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherborne Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherborne Motor Lodge

Address: 94 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $80 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherborne Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a variety of 3-4-star rated studios, 1 and 2 bedroom units, close to the city yet quiet. All units self-contained with kitchen facilities, some have spa baths or baths. Centrally located for easy access to attractions and amenities.Close to public transport and very good restaurants. FREE Off-street parking, FREE UNLIMITED WIFI,Sky TV and guest laundry facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sherborne Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing