We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherborne Motor Lodge
Ranked #58 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights on a Comfortable Bed! has all the sky channels!! felt right at home. Christchurch is a beautiful city! and this motel is so close to everything! Hagley park had amazing blossom trees! we managed to use there kitchen facillities and cooked every night! GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY! room was serviced every day! the owners were very friendly and helpful!! will definelty be back!! ***** 5 stars from us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuklandWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for all your wonderful, positive comments. We try hard to treat people the way we like to be treated when we travel and we try to provide everything in our rooms that our clients might reasonably expect. We look forward to seeing you next time we stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
49
43
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Anau
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Sherborne Motor Lodge when we returned from an overseas holiday. We arrived at 11am and were able to check into our room which was much appreciated after 10 hours in a plane. The room was warm and comfortable and all facilities are modern and clean. The Sherborne Motor Lodge is in a great location, a short walk to Merivale or the city centre, we found it to be very good value and the owners are very welcoming

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bikehikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Manager at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Many thanks for your comments.
We do try and go the "extra" mile with all our guests and it is great to see the positive comments.
Love the photo of your darling Pug!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We had 5 very comfortable nights here. Rob was exceptionally helpful as we have a long vehicle and he kept a suitable parking spot for us each day. Due to bad weather we arrived late but he stayed open late and had put the heater on.
The unit was large, modern, comfortable and clean. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Manager at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Many thanks for your kind and positive comments.
We do try and provide our guests with a great stay and take away fond memories.
It is high praise indeed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Good location but very simple lodge, basic for a few days stay. Clean and organized but with very hard beds and pillows, I cannot realize why to use so hard pillow. Good installations in the kitchen and bathroom and good TV channels selection.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayme_Nunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Manager at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are a smallish lodge, but having said that I feel we are more than "basic".
We have features like Sky Guest Select, whereby you select any channel you wish, which not every motel provides. We also have a guest laundary with commercial washers and dryers.

Yes, our motor lodge is clean but there are soft pillows in the wardrobe.
Had we put soft pillows on the beds, people complain they are too soft, preferring hard ones..
I feel our units are very reasonably priced especially for the spa bath units.

Everones preference is different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Good distance from the airport, very well priced and very spacious. Couldn't fault the place as it was perfect as a one night stop before we began our road trip through the south island. It has a bath which is a bonus as well as a reasonable DVD collection free to borrow at the reception.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jadebianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for your comments. It's nice to know when we get it right. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Clean, quiet, and comfortable room. Attractive decor. Good location especially considering what Christchurch has been through. Free off-street parking! Not the cheapest hotel we stayed at on our trip, but all accommodation in Christchurch is expensive now ... in my opinion Sherborne Motor Lodge was worth the price. I also loved that we were only charged when we arrived, with no stupid bond placed on our credit card either.

We got a studio ... and it was plenty big enough for two people. We found the kitchenette to be compact and well-supplied with hotplates, a microwave, a refrigerator, and all the crockery, cutlery, and utensils one could need.

I do agree with the reviewer who advised using the softer pillows in the closet. Those on the bed are high and very firm ... more like bolsters than pillows. My spouse likes a very firm pillow and he was fine with them. Mattress was fine.

Most impressive was the free 100 MB of wi-fi offered. Be warned that New Zealand is notorious for poor to non-existent internet service ... so to get 100 MB free when other hotels charge a fortune for wi-fi was a very pleasant surprise. I see that another reviewer had trouble connecting but I did not ... my Android phone connected fine. Staff were very friendly, efficient and very kind. We would happily stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USTravelerBAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words. We try hard, here at Sherborne Motor Lodge,to give our guests the best experience we can. It's nice to know we get it right sometimes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The motel has clean rooms with a lot of room. The shower pressure was pretty low but not the end of the world.
The main problem I had was the location of the motel as it was a fair walk to restaurant precinct and and other things to do. I would have rathered stayed close to town or on Bealey street if I had my time over again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank towner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
What can I say? Other reviews have said we are just the right distance to town and others have us too close. It takes about twenty minutes to walk to the city centre and there is a bus service with a stop one hundred metres away. Our buses are as clean and comfortable as any anywhere in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.7 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#37 of 145 in Christchurch
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#41 of 145 in Christchurch
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#67 of 145 in Christchurch
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#27 of 145 in Christchurch
137 reviews
2.5 mi away
2 on Whiteleigh Motel
2 on Whiteleigh Motel
#73 of 145 in Christchurch
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cranford Oak Motel
Cranford Oak Motel
#44 of 145 in Christchurch
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherborne Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherborne Motor Lodge

Property: Sherborne Motor Lodge
Address: 94 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherborne Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a variety of 3-4-star rated studios, 1 and 2 bedroom units, close to the city yet quiet. All units self-contained with kitchen facilities, some have spa baths or baths. Centrally located for easy access to attractions and amenities.Close to public transport and very good restaurants. FREE Off-street parking, FREE UNLIMITED WIFI,Sky TV and guest laundry facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sherborne Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing