We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sherborne Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 115 Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$105
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
$154
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$110
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
$99
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
$93
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
52
46
15
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
46
15
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshower pressuremotor lodgewell equipped kitchenetteeating placescity centrewould stay here againserviced dailya great staynew zealandtwo nightsfree wifihandy locationarrived lateliving roomwalking distanceunitmotel
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 123 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Good location but very simple lodge, basic for a few days stay. Clean and organized but with very hard beds and pillows, I cannot realize why to use so hard pillow. Good installations in the kitchen and bathroom and good TV channels selection.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayme_Nunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Manager at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are a smallish lodge, but having said that I feel we are more than "basic".
We have features like Sky Guest Select, whereby you select any channel you wish, which not every motel provides. We also have a guest laundary with commercial washers and dryers.

Yes, our motor lodge is clean but there are soft pillows in the wardrobe.
Had we put soft pillows on the beds, people complain they are too soft, preferring hard ones..
I feel our units are very reasonably priced especially for the spa bath units.

Everones preference is different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Good distance from the airport, very well priced and very spacious. Couldn't fault the place as it was perfect as a one night stop before we began our road trip through the south island. It has a bath which is a bonus as well as a reasonable DVD collection free to borrow at the reception.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jadebianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks for your comments. It's nice to know when we get it right. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Clean, quiet, and comfortable room. Attractive decor. Good location especially considering what Christchurch has been through. Free off-street parking! Not the cheapest hotel we stayed at on our trip, but all accommodation in Christchurch is expensive now ... in my opinion Sherborne Motor Lodge was worth the price. I also loved that we were only charged when we arrived, with no stupid bond placed on our credit card either.

We got a studio ... and it was plenty big enough for two people. We found the kitchenette to be compact and well-supplied with hotplates, a microwave, a refrigerator, and all the crockery, cutlery, and utensils one could need.

I do agree with the reviewer who advised using the softer pillows in the closet. Those on the bed are high and very firm ... more like bolsters than pillows. My spouse likes a very firm pillow and he was fine with them. Mattress was fine.

Most impressive was the free 100 MB of wi-fi offered. Be warned that New Zealand is notorious for poor to non-existent internet service ... so to get 100 MB free when other hotels charge a fortune for wi-fi was a very pleasant surprise. I see that another reviewer had trouble connecting but I did not ... my Android phone connected fine. Staff were very friendly, efficient and very kind. We would happily stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USTravelerBAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thanks very much for your kind words. We try hard, here at Sherborne Motor Lodge,to give our guests the best experience we can. It's nice to know we get it right sometimes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The motel has clean rooms with a lot of room. The shower pressure was pretty low but not the end of the world.
The main problem I had was the location of the motel as it was a fair walk to restaurant precinct and and other things to do. I would have rathered stayed close to town or on Bealey street if I had my time over again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank towner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

What can I say? Other reviews have said we are just the right distance to town and others have us too close. It takes about twenty minutes to walk to the city centre and there is a bus service with a stop one hundred metres away. Our buses are as clean and comfortable as any anywhere in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was the first place we stayed on arrival in New Zealand from Ohio in the USA, so we were totally exhausted after the long trip and happy to arrive at the hotel. Initially we were pleased with the appearance of the room--very clean, nice decor. The hosts were nice, the grounds well kept, parking was adequate, the location was within walking distance to a few places to eat and buy groceries and near the city center. The problems we had were the kind that are not immediately noticeable. The first thing we wanted to do was take a shower after traveling on 3 different planes for 24+ hours. We discovered that the bathroom had a drainage problem in both the sink and the shower--in fact, we had to keep turning off the water while in the shower to prevent it from overflowing into the room. The sink was very tiny so it also filled up fast due to the slow drain. There was no flat edge to the sink and very little shelf space, therefore no place to put things needed in the bathroom--even the floor space was limited because the bathroom was small. There was no hook on the bathroom door to hang clothing--the only hooks found were on the towel bar but these were small and awkwardly located next to the toilet. The next thing we really needed was a good long sleep. Unfortunately, the mattress was one of the worst I've slept upon--lumpy (could feel the coils), saggy, edges were corded and mattress seemed thin and cheap--and the pillows seemed as high and rock hard as a mountain. We did discover other pillows in the closet the next morning but by then it was too late and we were too exhausted the day before to even think of looking for more pillows. The room was also very hot. In spite of these problems, for some odd reason we believe we would stay here again--we would just maybe ask for a different room. The hotel has a new owner who had only bought it a couple weeks before our stay and I believe he will improve this place as able.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Hi
I'm sorry this response has taken a while. We still have a lot to learn and how to deal with Trip Advisor responses is another step along the way. Thank you for your positive criticism of our motel. I have taken your comments on board and will endeavor to act on them where practicable. A shelf in the bathroom and some hooks will be easy. We could put the soft pillows on the bed and the hard ones in the closet and the next guest will complain about too soft pillows. We can't please everybody. We appreciate that the rooms get warm in summer and we could air-condition all the rooms but a cost-benefit analysis would show that it would be a waste of money in a temperate climate where air con might improve things three or four days a year - and would our guests really want to pay an extra $10-20 each night to cover the cost?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews