We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South Island Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherborne Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherborne Motor Lodge
Ranked #57 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“South Island Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Excellent place, spacious, like being at home away from home. Very clean apartment, kitchen . is well equipped. Very quiet environment.

I have traveled the world and this is one of the best place we have stayed at.

I Would stay again, would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    41
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
42
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Booked through Air NZ. Good central location to the North of the CBD. Room was spacious, very clean and had all the amenities, including a kitchenette, in a quiet setting. Helpful and friendly staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandTrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

stayed for one-night at the sherborne lodge - was a lovely room (studio), friendly manager and overall i would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurabeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor SA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Sherborne Motor Lodge. Its central location, and tastefully refurbished room met our expectations. It was well set up with excellent kitchen facilities, comfortable bed and bedding , fast WiFi and a very functional shower. The room was spacious and comfortable and clearly had good acoustic qualities, as we were unable to hear the nearby traffic. It was a bonus to have a wide selection of eating-places within 100 metres or so from the lodge. The management was very helpful and obliging giving us ideas on what to do, where to go, and how to navigate around the earthquake. We would be very comfortable in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Upgrade - you will get value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scenicencounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Had a two bedroom suite we shared with our adult daughter and were very comfortable. Really good location, central but quiet, great restaurants nearby. Much better location than Ricarrton motels where we spent a night the following week.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyColorado_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week on our honeymoon. The room was comfortable to hang out in and quiet at night for sleeping. The staff is friendly and helpful in planning activities. I

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loriaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent a night here when we reached Christchurch. While the rate was a steal and our rooms were fairly clean, decor looks a bit tired and retro which makes the rooms look a bit dingy. Facilities are functional. We booked two rooms and one of them had a terrible smell - it was as if someone had sprayed insect repellant all over the room to get rid of something. Internet/wifi was free for the 100MB, an offer which we could not resist. Location wise - pretty close to the earthquake hit areas ( Am talking about the February and June 2011 earthquakes not the recent 23 December one) Overall - it's an okay place to stay if you in Christchurch for a short period.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gemstar1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#62 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#32 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#80 of 148 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#26 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
#23 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosewood Court Motel
Rosewood Court Motel
#56 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherborne Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherborne Motor Lodge

Property: Sherborne Motor Lodge
Address: 94 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherborne Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a variety of 4-star rated studios, 1 and 2 bedroom units, close to the city yet quiet. All units self-contained with kitchen facilities, some have spa baths or baths. Centrally located for easy access to attractions and amenities.Close to public transport and very good restaurants. Off-street parking, wireless hotspot,Sky guest select with 50+ Channels and guest laundry facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sherborne Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing