We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherborne Motor Lodge
Ranked #57 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed June 15, 2012

stayed for one-night at the sherborne lodge - was a lovely room (studio), friendly manager and overall i would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurabeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Sherborne Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 117 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Sherborne Motor Lodge. Its central location, and tastefully refurbished room met our expectations. It was well set up with excellent kitchen facilities, comfortable bed and bedding , fast WiFi and a very functional shower. The room was spacious and comfortable and clearly had good acoustic qualities, as we were unable to hear the nearby traffic. It was a bonus to have a wide selection of eating-places within 100 metres or so from the lodge. The management was very helpful and obliging giving us ideas on what to do, where to go, and how to navigate around the earthquake. We would be very comfortable in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Upgrade - you will get value for money.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scenicencounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Had a two bedroom suite we shared with our adult daughter and were very comfortable. Really good location, central but quiet, great restaurants nearby. Much better location than Ricarrton motels where we spent a night the following week.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyColorado_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week on our honeymoon. The room was comfortable to hang out in and quiet at night for sleeping. The staff is friendly and helpful in planning activities. I

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loriaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent a night here when we reached Christchurch. While the rate was a steal and our rooms were fairly clean, decor looks a bit tired and retro which makes the rooms look a bit dingy. Facilities are functional. We booked two rooms and one of them had a terrible smell - it was as if someone had sprayed insect repellant all over the room to get rid of something. Internet/wifi was free for the 100MB, an offer which we could not resist. Location wise - pretty close to the earthquake hit areas ( Am talking about the February and June 2011 earthquakes not the recent 23 December one) Overall - it's an okay place to stay if you in Christchurch for a short period.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemstar1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

First time in Christchurch and we had a lovely stay even if it was for a night. Nice spacious and comfortable room with great facilities. Reception guy was friendly and advised some places to eat and things to do. Overall a good value place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madcatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Facilities are tidy, up to date and functional. Lovely garden setting and quiet too. Close by to shops for food also. Reception staff very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely return. Thanks Craig and Suzi.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maj_lee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.7 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#36 of 146 in Christchurch
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#47 of 146 in Christchurch
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#43 of 146 in Christchurch
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
#39 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cranford Oak Motel
Cranford Oak Motel
#46 of 146 in Christchurch
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherborne Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherborne Motor Lodge

Address: 94 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $70 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherborne Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a variety of 3-4-star rated studios, 1 and 2 bedroom units, close to the city yet quiet. All units self-contained with kitchen facilities, some have spa baths or baths. Centrally located for easy access to attractions and amenities.Close to public transport and very good restaurants. FREE Off-street parking, FREE UNLIMITED WIFI,Sky TV and guest laundry facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sherborne Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing