We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 141 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2007

This was our first stop on a 3 week trip to NZ from the US, and we had a fantastic stay at the Orari! The B&B is centrally located in Christchurch, yet tucked away on a quiet side street. Our room was clean, with an attached private bath; just what we needed after our 23+ hours of travel from New York. The bed was comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious, with plenty of variety. We were concerned because our room was located next to the noisy elevator, but our fears were unfounded, as the lift is only used to move luggage, and we didn't hear it once during our 2 night stay. The staff was helpful, yet unobtrusive. Our only complaint was that we had requested an early breakfast on the day of our departure, but nobody had informed the person who prepared the breakfast. They were very apologetic, and rushed to get together a quick bite for us, and even offered to drive us in their personal car to our tour meeting place at a nearby hotel.

This was the cleanest, most comfortable place we stayed during our entire 3 week vacation in NZ.

Stayed: December 2005
3  Thank Beckster06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 401 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2007

This beautiful hotel in the central part of Christchurch is an excellent choice. It is one of the prettiest houses in Christchurch, also beautifully furnished, and is run by a man who grew up in it. He and the other staff are very helpful--they answered all our questions about walking and driving routes, restaurants, internet problems (we did finally manage to connect), and the history of the house (also illustrated in pictures on the walls). Despite the central location, our rooms on the back of the building were quiet. The breakfasts were also excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ACG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

Orari was one of the best places we stayed in NZ. The building is lovely with lots of original art, books and antiques. The location is also fantastic - opposite the art gallery and only 5 mins walk from the Arts Centre & the Botanic Gardens.

The rooms are ultra clean with simple, yet tasteful decor. However the two aspects that set this place apart are the service & the breakfast.

The owners were really helpful & welcoming, yet unintrusive and the B&B had one of the most relaxing atmospheres we encountered on our holiday. We felt we could go and sit in the garden or read a book in the lounge without any problem. We also took full advantage of the free wine that they left out every evening for guests to enjoy!

The breakfast was a total bonus. It was cooked to a high standard and served impeccably. A great way to start the day.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

Like many people, we began and ended our NZ trip at Orari and we couldn't have found a better place. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff are very friendly and the breakfast is delicious. The guest lounge and dining rooms are also very spacious and it is nice to sit and have a glass of wine with fellow guests.
Orari is in a great central location, unlike many other hotels in Christchurch and has a nice personal touch to it, also unlike many other hotels. Very much recommended as your Christchurch base.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank monkey_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2007

Wished we could have stayed longer as this was a superb B&B in the middle of downtown Christchurch. Very well appointed and large living and dining room with plenty of couch sitting, books, and radio. The gardens were large and very pleasant. The queen size bedroom was very spacious as well with two sitting chairs and a bay window to view the sidewalk traffic. Didn't have the chance to sample the breakfast as we had to leave very early but the staff accomodated us with preperations for the continental version the night before. They also allowed us to store extra luggage in the office overnight which was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boilers95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

We were very pleased with our stay at the Orari. Great location, friendly hosts, and a very nice room. Check out the beautiful lounge area in the afternoon. Comfy chairs, couches, fireplace, books and complimentary wine. A great place to relax and meet other travelers.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank jg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2006

The Orari was a very cute bed and breakfast and was extremely well located (5- to 10-minute walk to Cathedral Square, the Trolley, the Arts building, downtown shopping and beautiful gardens). We were very comfortable during our time there, and it certainly presented a good deal for the money. The house was beautiful and wonderfully restored. Our room on the second floor was large, and the bathroom (shower only) was quite modern. In addition, breakfast was delightful. They have a lift for luggage, so rooms on the second floor were not a problem for us. We had to be out very early the morning we left, and the proprietors were extremely accomodating and even served breakfast early for us.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank nycbc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,113 reviews
1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 141 in Christchurch
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#2 of 141 in Christchurch
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orari Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orari Bed & Breakfast

Address: 42 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $145 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orari Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orari Bed and Breakfast is a heritage home located in the city center opposite the art gallery. Offering 10 bedrooms, Orari B&B makes an ideal place to see all of Christchurch's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orari Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orari Bed And Breakfast
Orari Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing