We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
272
121
32
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
121
32
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary wine art gallery dumb waiter great location new zealand botanic gardens old house fellow guests private bath arts centre comfortable lounge beautiful house b bs small hotel few minutes walk hot breakfast breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 436 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2007

This beautiful hotel in the central part of Christchurch is an excellent choice. It is one of the prettiest houses in Christchurch, also beautifully furnished, and is run by a man who grew up in it. He and the other staff are very helpful--they answered all our questions about walking and driving routes, restaurants, internet problems (we did finally manage to connect), and the history of the house (also illustrated in pictures on the walls). Despite the central location, our rooms on the back of the building were quiet. The breakfasts were also excellent.

Date of stay: February 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ACG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

Orari was one of the best places we stayed in NZ. The building is lovely with lots of original art, books and antiques. The location is also fantastic - opposite the art gallery and only 5 mins walk from the Arts Centre & the Botanic Gardens.

The rooms are ultra clean with simple, yet tasteful decor. However the two aspects that set this place apart are the service & the breakfast.

The owners were really helpful & welcoming, yet unintrusive and the B&B had one of the most relaxing atmospheres we encountered on our holiday. We felt we could go and sit in the garden or read a book in the lounge without any problem. We also took full advantage of the free wine that they left out every evening for guests to enjoy!

The breakfast was a total bonus. It was cooked to a high standard and served impeccably. A great way to start the day.

Date of stay: December 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

Like many people, we began and ended our NZ trip at Orari and we couldn't have found a better place. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff are very friendly and the breakfast is delicious. The guest lounge and dining rooms are also very spacious and it is nice to sit and have a glass of wine with fellow guests.
Orari is in a great central location, unlike many other hotels in Christchurch and has a nice personal touch to it, also unlike many other hotels. Very much recommended as your Christchurch base.

Date of stay: January 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank monkey_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2007

Wished we could have stayed longer as this was a superb B&B in the middle of downtown Christchurch. Very well appointed and large living and dining room with plenty of couch sitting, books, and radio. The gardens were large and very pleasant. The queen size bedroom was very spacious as well with two sitting chairs and a bay window to view the sidewalk traffic. Didn't have the chance to sample the breakfast as we had to leave very early but the staff accomodated us with preperations for the continental version the night before. They also allowed us to store extra luggage in the office overnight which was very nice.

Date of stay: January 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boilers95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

We were very pleased with our stay at the Orari. Great location, friendly hosts, and a very nice room. Check out the beautiful lounge area in the afternoon. Comfy chairs, couches, fireplace, books and complimentary wine. A great place to relax and meet other travelers.

Date of stay: December 2006
1  Thank jg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews