We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in Christchurch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elm Tree House

Elm Tree House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elm Tree House
Ranked #95 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Ponsonby, Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Christchurch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Had one warm, comfy night when we overnighted in Christchurch in two lovely big rooms and all slept soundly. I had lost a tooth so Karen suggested a dentist that was virtually next door. Their dinner suggestion was also spot on and a a couple of minutes walk away. We had grandchildren with us who had a wonderful time playing and dancing to their jukebox and cuddling the sausage dogs.
It was easy to get to from the airport . This has been a particularly cold winter so Elm Tree House seemed like a wonderful warm sanctuary . Breakfast was lavish and delicious and Allan and Karen were so nice to the children and catered to their needs.
It was really interesting talking to Allan about the earthquake and aftermath. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatPonsTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
39
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Tiny rooms and right beside the road couldn't sleep. would NEVER go there again!!!

Room Tip: Don't take the Avon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Karen was very welcoming (Alan away on mini break) and so was the pre dinner drink . At this tariff wine should be complimentary even if Karen wasn't around. She is a lively soul keen to accommodate. Its a lovely house, beautifully furnished. And the two dogs are a delight, especially Harry who loves his tummy tickled. The lounge and breakfast area are very pleasing as is the breakfast itself. We stayed in the Franz Josef suite which overlooks a side street and therefore away from most of the traffic noise. Papanui Road is very busy. Good restaurants are within walking distance. You can walk to the large nearby park and onto the Botanic Gardens. Well worth a visit. So tranquil in a busy city. We are glad we stayed here but it is overpriced.

Room Tip: Avon is amongst the best value probably but does seem to have a problem with traffic noise. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here. Karen and Alan were welcoming but in a rush to make a dinner reservation for us. We chose the italian across the road and had a pleasant meal.
Due to a mix up, the room had not been made into twin beds, so we were offered two rooms. The rooms are all different and are named. We had the Franz Josef and Mount Cook that night. They were both good size, with robes provided. No bath but that was not a problem for us.
The next day, I changed from the Mount Cook to the Avon. Considerably smaller. Both rooms I stayed in were facing Papanui Road, a very busy route. However, the traffic noise was not noticable so no worries there.
Breakfast was good, with preserves, yoghurt and muffins made by Karen.
Decor - rather dark and chock full of antiques and knickknacks.
Ate another night at Tutto Bene on Papanui Road - need to book. Enjoyed the food and atmosphere so much, we went back at the end of the trip. The pizzas are huge - be warned!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getaway39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
265 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

So my booking was very last minute 30 mins before I rocked up. It's a warm (ish) up market B&B situated approx 12 mins from what is left of the CBD.
I ended up with the honeymoon suite!! The bed was really comfy and the electric blanket a god send in a chilly night. The bathroom is very very small. No bath so if your idea of a honeymoon night is soaking in a large bath if bubbles together them this is not the place for you. The sunk in the bathroom is so so small.
Given that you are on a main road there's no chance of a sleep in. The traffic noise is heavy especially during the week.
The hosts are really friendly, glass of wine in lounge early evening was a great way to unwind.
My gripe is the cost NZ$284.00 is crazy for a B&B and that was the price on Wotif. Normal room rate is $350.00
Take a $100 off and you have pretty good value for money.
There are a number of places to eat and drink within 200m.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2checkingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon, after spending the previous two weeks driving around New Zealand. Karen and Allen were wonderful hosts and made sure we were well looked after. Breakfast before leaving was enjoyable as was the conversation. Having locals handy to tell you what and where to go is very helpful!

It is very easy to get to Christchurch City from here with a public bus service or a 10 minute drive. There are also a number of restaurants and shops nearby as well.

We stayed in the honeymoon suite and can't fault the cleanliness of the room. If there is an issue it's to do with the size of the rooms, but it was more than adequate. My wife purchased some of the dresses in the foyer as well to give to a friends newborn - they are a nice touch!

The only other warning I have for people is the lack of parking which can make it slightly tricky getting in and out. We were ok with our hire car (a Toyota Corolla) but a bigger car might have some difficulties.

We fully intend to stay there again next time we are in Christchurch!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

We enjoyed a lovely night here at the end of a campervanning holiday recently. The rooms are beautiful and the bed was really comfortable. We enjoyed the port and sherry in the lounge, the dvd collection and the book exchange.

We did feel that the welcome we received on arrival was nowhere near as warm as those we'd received at all the campsite we'd been staying in beforehand...perhaps because our campervan was lowering the tone of the property! The owners were helpful though and gave us lots of info on local places to eat.

We enjoyed chatting to all the other guests at breakfast though, and the homemade fruit and jams were delicious. My husband was a little disappointed that the cooked breakfast was just egg, rather than the bacon promised in the info pack in the rooms, but it was a lovely breakfast nonetheless.

All in all we enjoyed the beautiful rooms and a bit of luxury to end our holiday but just wished our initial welcome had been a little less snooty perhaps!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#15 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#29 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Randolph Motel / Apartments
Randolph Motel / Apartments
#107 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Motel
Diplomat Motel
#98 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Tree House

Property: Elm Tree House
Address: 236 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elm Tree House 5*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing