We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 136 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Lovely piece of Christchurch's heritage. So pleased it was restored AND it survived! How host for very accommodating and nice and friendly. Only too pleased to help us out of a pickle. She also suggested different places to visit. Breakfast was deliciious. Don't stay here if you have a fear of teddy bears - there's hundreds! Not withstanding the gorgeous stair banister, this place still has some way to go to making the decor sympathetic to it's age.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heykuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 651 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

arrived by bus at about 3 .30 pm thurday night stopped real handy to elizas manor on bealey i am an invalid so GREEN cabs driver unloaded all my junk and the ride only charged me 5 bucks for all this he knew the owners personally i staggered inside eliza (car sick ) on the way down from nelson. the welcome was genuine no worries strait to room to rest slept till 8pm all my junk was carried to my room which i appreciated nothing was a problem or a hastle for my stay great shower felt alot better downstairs and all the sign in stuff was accomp. no fuss sent to a great tai eating (map provided) place walking distance the walk done me good ate plenty for the money i paid . came back refrested and ready to sleep didnt hear a thing till the alarm at 6.30 am. another great shower downstairs big breakfast offered had the fruit as im still travelling Harold carted my junk to the bus stop for me in plenty of time to catch the bus to invercargill yes this service they offered me Ann and Harold they went the XTRA MILE and then some will be back Ann , Harold thanks for the great stay

Room Tip: the MAIDS room was great even a little snack if ya peckesh in the middle of the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeljameswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliza1861, Owner at Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Very happy to be of help, glad you enjoyed staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The property, room and breakfast were great. But what stood out was the very personal service provided by Ann and Harold. For newcomers to the country, this was invaluable - Ann was very happy to give us advice and information on all kinds of subjects that were unfamiliar to us. They even allowed me to send some files on their office computer - nothing was too much trouble. The perfect stay in Christchurch. Thank you. Joy Davies & Chris Green

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyDaviesRhydaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was disappointing that I was there for business and did not have enough time to really enjoy such a pleasant experience. Anne is an amazing host and makes you feel very cared for. The little touches are very special - to the history of the premises, the plunger coffee, the chocolate teddy bear and the anzac cookies. I will definitely return when I have time for a short break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackirmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for a few days while in Christchurch, New Zealand. I liked how different this hotel is from other places I stayed in up to that point. The house was lovely, with old feel to it, but comfortable and clean. Owners were friendly and always willing to help and recommend things (and I found this to be true with everyone in NZ), but Ann went out of her way to provide me with Internet, make my hair appointment and was just helpful in every way possible. Breakfast was wonderful. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Christchurch. It was a treat staying here - thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjaS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Really nice, beautiful property that has been updated due to the earthquake. You get all the lovely woodwork, character, furnishing etc... of a heritage home, but you also get spacious guest rooms with modern bathrooms and individual heating and cooling units. Also, not to be missed is the best hollandaise sauce anywhere! The owners were very helpful in recommending things to do to get the most out of our short stay in Christchurch and also in helping with some of the rest of our travels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbrwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliza1861, Owner at Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Glad you liked Eliza's. Yes, it is a fine balance between maintaining the heritage aspects and having acceptable modern facilities - thanks for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My daughter and I started our New Zealand visit with a near arrest for her at the airport for having 2 apples in her bag! It was almost midnight, and we were exhausted. Ann from Eliza's had arranged a cab to meet us at arrivals, and Ann met us at almost 1am at the door - it was like coming home. We fell into the bed so relieved and reassured. the nest two days we had a wonderful flu breakfast that was so great we never had lunch! Ann made us dinner reservations, called to confirm our tours, and booked us massages. She met us every night at the door. The history of this B&B is so wonderful. We travelled on to other spots, hotels mostly, but felt "looked after" the most at Eliza's. If I didn't live a world away in Boston I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,949 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 82 Bealey Avenue | Central City, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Eliza's Manor on Bealey)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $185 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in a central city location. Christchurch is the gateway city for the South Island of New Zealand. Combining historic ambience with comfortable and modern facilities, Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel has eight guest rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Relax in the Garden Bar or private courtyard and have a drink in the fully licensed bar. A full cooked breakfast for two is included in the room rate. Free wireless internet access is available for guests with their own devices. A bar serving drinks and bar snacks is also available on the ground floor. We regret that Eliza's Manor is not very suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing