We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Holidays 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 130 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Christmas Holidays 2011”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Eliza's Mannor for one night; there is only one word that describes the whole experience ''FANTASTIC''. The quality of the rooms and breakfast is on par with any London 5 star hotel!! Our host Ann was so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. This was our last stop on our New Zealand tour If we ever get a chance to travel back to New Zealand this is a ''Must Stay Accommodation.

H & Y

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expatman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    73
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
446
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed in New Zealand for seventeen days, two of which were at Eliza's. This establishment was, by far, the best of all the places I stayed. The house has been completely renovated since the Feb / June earthquakes and is in really good shape; it also has all of the appropriate safeguards such as sprinklers which I found missing in some of the smaller B&Bs. What truly sets this establishment apart are the people who run it - they are friendly, engaging and go out of their way to ensure you have a good experience. Ann was even kind enough to do a load of laundry for me one of the days I was there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

After traveling 29 hours form the states we could not have had a warmer welcome (met in the parking lot and immediately helped with our luggage), a nicer room - great bed, huge room and luxurious bathroom and friendlier hosts (especially Gail).

We had a great night's sleep, an even better breakfast and some lovely parting presents.
Anybody wanting a great place to stay in Christchurch choose Eliza's manor on Bealey.

By the way Christchurch is a great place to visit, it is open for business and a lovely city.

Room Tip: We were shown several, we choose the closest to the steps as we were exhausted - they were all great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishm004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Eliza's is the most fantastic place to stay! We had our wedding on the magnificent staircase and enjoyed a delicious meal with family and friends in the gorgeous banquet hall. The accommodation is stunning and the food devine. Ann and Harold are the perfect hosts! Couldn't ask for more. Highestnpossible recommendation for any Christchurch travelers or those wanting to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I travelled through Christchurch in February 2008 with my husband, parents, mother in law and two friends. We were stopping over on our way to Queenstown for my birthday. I wasn't into Trip Advisor at that stage but I want to encourage anyone travelling through Christchurch to stay at this beautiful B&B. Their breakfasts alone are the best I have ever had and the warmth of the hostess, Ann, really does leave a glow that stays with you. We all loved this place which is really saying something considering the varierty of personalities in our group! My parents and I are still in touch with Ann and it is over 3 years since we first met. This B&B did sustain some damage in the earthquake but it is still operational and they I am sure they would appreciate the support. Nothing was too much trouble for Ann - she is a great lady. I highly recommend this B&B and so I was very jealous when my parents went back and stayed there again! Ann collects teddy bears so you will see a few around the place and even they seem welcoming too!

Room Tip: Light sleepers would be better off in a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovejetboating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saronno, Italy
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This pretty B&B has been the best place to start our honeymoon in New Zealand: they have been very kind with us and the Breakfast was gorgeous!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauratorchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Arrived to a warm welcome. If you like character in your accommodation then Elizas Manor has it - magnificant staircase/divine stained glass windowsand lots more. We experienced The Maids Room with the rest of our group in The Master Bedroom - both came with comfortable beds - had more than adequate space and modern washroom facilities. Our breakfast was superb - lots of fresh food choice. Elizas Manor was within walking distance of Christchurch Centre with lots of recommended places to dine locally. Our hosts were particularly helpful - home from home athmosphere. I know Elizas Manor will be restored to its former self after having taken some damage in the aftershocks of February 2011 and would continue to highly recommend this as a place to stay when visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
0.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 130 in Christchurch
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel

Property: Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Address: 82 Bealey Avenue | Central City, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Eliza's Manor on Bealey)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in a central city location. Christchurch is the gateway city for the South Island of New Zealand. Combining historic ambience with comfortable and modern facilities, Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel has eight guest rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Relax in the Garden Room or private Courtyard and have a drink in the fully licensed bar. A full cooked breakfast for two is included in the room rate. Free wireless internet access is available for guests with their own devices. A bar serving drinks, bar food and a full dessert menu is also available on the ground floor. We regret that Eliza's Manor is not really suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing