We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great!”
Review of Menteith House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Menteith House
Ranked #69 of 133 Christchurch B&B and Inns
United States
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was the most enjoyable experience. Beautiful, spacious, very clean house with covered pool. Garden, country air. Hosts were very kind and PM guest hour with wine was most relaxing. Best memories.

Room Tip: All rooms seems great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed with Fay & Stephen for 3 nights in January 2012. They were excellent hosts, making us feel so welcome in their lovely home. The accommodation was of high quality and the breakfasts were superb. We really enjoyed their company and would recommend this B&B to anyone planning to spend time in Christchurch.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJanSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent 4 of our 14 nights in New Zealand in beautiful Menteith Country House and both of us just loved it there. We felt most spoilt by the generosity and attention to detail extended to usby hosts Fay and Stephen. Thank you both for making us feel so much at home and for the enjoyment of our conversations with you, we feel we have known you for much longer than just 4 days. We will definitely be recommending your gorgeous home to our friends and we sincerely hope that that we wiL be able to stay with you when we make our second holiday inNew Zealand". We wish you all the best for the coming festive season and the New Year.

Maree and John

Room Tip: Both ther king ensuiter rooms are spacious d thre beds really comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Faye & Steven know how to make guests feel welcome. My boyfriend & I adored this picturesque B&B. Throughout our one night stay, Faye offered tea & cookies, a glass of wine while watching the rugby world cup, and prepared the indoor hot tub for a quick dip before bed. Beautiful & immaculate. You will feel as though you are visiting an accommodating relative.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergiuV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Menteith Country House far surpassed my expectations. My time there was very peaceful and although in the country is just 20 minutes from Christchurch Airport. Hosts Fay and Stephen provide beautifully designed accomodation where every window captures a view. They maintain immaculate standards throughout. It is easy to see that hospitality and guest comfort is their gifting and a priority. I have stayed in many hotels but this will remain as my favourte experience.

Room Tip: All rooms were of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, oh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed with Fay and Stephen in the beginning of April 2011. We had a fabulous stay.
They let us check in early as our flight arrived early in the morning and we were exhausted from traveling. The house was absolutely beautiful with beautiful surroundings. It is about 20 minutes from the airport and downtown Christchurch but felt removed from the city.
Fay and Stephen were absolutely fabulous and wonderful hosts and we had a great time getting to know them. Our room was very comfortable and even bathrobes and slippers were provided for our use. The breakfasts were wonderful with homemade honey from Stephen's bees.
We absolutely would stay here again and this was one of our favorite B+B on our 16 day tour of the South Island.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blairdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The BEST homecooked breakfast during our South New Zealand's stay!

Great, wonderful and helpful hosts (Fay and Stephen) who had made good recommendations for places to visit during our stay at their house and also those not-to-be-missed stop-over 'sight-seeing places' during our drive to our next destination.

Such a BEAUTIFUL home with very nicely furnished, well-kept, cosy, clean and well equipped bedrooms, bathrooms, etc.

Had great fun feeding their cute Alpacas!! :)

If you MISSED out staying in this B&B, you're missing a really GREAT & WONDERFUL stay in South New Zealand!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherlynn_Loke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
6.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
7.0 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
1,751 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
7.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
5.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menteith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menteith House

Property: Menteith House
Address: 15 Elmwood Drive | Prebbleton, Christchurch 7676, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menteith House is a quality bed and breakfast in 'The Elms on Prebbleton' only 15 minutes from airport/city.Being at the end of a lane we enjoy tranquility and great views of mountains and Port Hills from our upstairs guest rooms and lounge. Savour the flavors of the family’s specialty honeys with your hearty breakfast. Fay is an avid spinner of differing fibers - try your hand! Our Port Hills queen bed collects the morning sun while Copland has a garden and mountain outlook with flexible king/twin beds. Both rooms are served by a spacious private bathroom. Join us for 'happy hour' on our sunny deck outside the lounge. Good local restaurants within walking distance. Bus stop a short walk from Menteith. Our friendly cat 'Whisky' comes and goes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing