We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Ranked #2 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A welcoming B&B”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Comfortable and quiet rooms. Very friendly staff and lovely breakfast cooked to order. We spent two nights in Room 2 in two queen beds which was perfect for us,
Convenient location with walking distance to City Center, River Avon with the Gondolas, Container Shoppingcenter, museum, Hagley Park and the Botanic Gardens. Restaurants like Fiddlesticks and Dux Dine are close by.

Room Tip: Room nr 2 with two queen beds was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    197
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
91
513
84
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We very much enjoyed our two night stay here. The location is very convenient to central city, Hagly Park and the airport (20 min taxi ride). The hosts are welcoming and helpful with information and arrangements. Breakfast is cooked to order and delicious. Room 2 with two queen beds fir our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellight47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Comfortable and quiet room, even though we overlooked the street. Wonderful breakfasts, off-street parking and excellent free wi-fi service were very appreciated.

Great location for exploring CBD, but remaining destruction from the earthquakes 3 years ago meant there were limited dining options nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZgirl4092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed one night in an Executive Studio apartment which was spacious and very nicely decorated (contemporary), huge comfy bed, well equipped kitchenette, huge bathroom with great shower. Walking distance to Botanic Gardens, museum, shopping etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in March and it was a delightful place considering the damage it had to repair after the quake. Its in a good location to walk to most of the central area. Our room was at the front but not too noisy. It was well appointed with everything we needed and the shower room was spacious and well set out. The only snag was that the whole floor seemed to get wet when you had a shower - and a bit slippy. The breakfasts were lovely and on our last day they even started half an hour early so we could eat before we left. All of the staff we met were wonderful - friendly and very helpful. We would certainly recommend anyone to stay here

Room Tip: Don't really know - ours was fine. Perhaps further back in the building would be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieisathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights early March. Comfy bed in clean spacious but cosy room. Great location close to botanical gardens, Canterbury museum, tram stop and restaurants. Great to see Christchurch rising from the rubble. Excellent hosts. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy2traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at The Grange in a studio apartment. The motel is situated in a quiet area but is within easy walking distance of all the city centre amenities - the museum, botanic gardens, Cathedral Square, restart,shops and restaurants.
The fixtures and fittings, furnishings and equipment are all of a high standard, wifi is free and easily accessible. Car parking is also free and as the tram is just minutes away there is no need to move the car during your stay. Price is very good for such a great location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 145 in Christchurch
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Property: The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Address: 56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange Guesthouse & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel is situated on the corner of Cramner Square, making us the closest Motel to the re:START Cashel Street mall & the Botanic Gardens. We are the ideal location for guests involved in the rebuild of the City Centre.Classic & contemporary, the newly renovated Grange B&B holds 5 large individually decorated, boutique Suites; all with Queen or Super King beds. The Motel at the rear of the Manor has 4 Studio and 4 1-Bedroom self-contained apartment style units on 2 levels, with modern decor & fittings. Make sure to stop in and grab a complimentary Latte or such from our Barista on your way out for the day!In the vicinity:A leisurely 5-10 minute walk east will find you at Cathedral Square, leading back to The Arts Centre, The Art Gallery & The Canterbury Museum. To our west, is the lovely Botanic Gardens & Hagley Park. We are only a short walk to top class restaurants such as 'Tiffany's' and 'Cook N with Gas' & the newly re-opened 'Coffee House' is 300 metres from Cathedral Grammar & Christ's College. Strolling down the Avon River will lead you to the 're:START' Cashel Street mall. Entertainment can be found at The Christchurch Casino & Victoria Street has many bars & cafes to visit.Free wireless Internet access is available to all guests. Sightseeing tours & onward travel can be arranged. Special requests & group bookings are most welcome.All rooms are Smokefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing