We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great end to our stay in New Zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Ranked #2 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great end to our stay in New Zealand”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a lovely B&B and the staff (Linda and Eva) couldn't have been more helpful. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was huge with a fantastic shower. The breakfasts were made to order and were very nice but I think most guests would have preferred it if breakfast finished at 10.00a.m. Rather than 9.00a.m.

The location was excellent and was close to the city centre, museum, restaurants and botanical garden which were all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room 1 on the ground floor is great and you don't have to carry your bags upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    197
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
91
513
84
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We loved this guesthouse, it is full of character; it is well situated for the CBD and Botanic gardens. It has good road access and there are several restaurants nearby. The room we had was very pleasant, beautifully decorated and furnished and with plenty of room. The staff are very welcoming and unfailingly helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was really good and dietary needs were met, the coffee was great. We even had breakfast in our room on one day when we were going out early. We returned to the Grange later in our trip and we were so warmly welcomed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in Room 5, nicely decorated room- aircon, heater, a nice comfy bed and even a spa!

The owners were really warm and certainly make us feel like at home.

Strongly recommended since it has probably the best location. a affordable price considering breakfast were provided!

And BreakFast!!! The egg benedict is the best i have ever! Dont miss it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainncheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Obvious from the title, we stayed in the motel section of this facility. Our room was very nice, spacious and well equipped. Nicely located so that many restaurants are within walking distance. A little above average in quietness, but then we had good neighbors. Smoking was allowed in the patio area in front of the motel section so that is either a plus or a minus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dryside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A lovely place to stay, quiet, comfortable, central, good facilities, helpful staff ..... just everything one would hope for. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the hinterland and coast, Akaroa where we were luck enough to view a large pod of hector dolphins, Hanmar Springs, small towns on the Canterbury Plains. New Brighton and Lyttelton are interesting.

Room Tip: Room 4 is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The homestead and motel have been renovated since the earthquake to provide a welcoming atmosphere reminiscent of home. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room we had was huge, nicely furnished and clean.There was air conditioning and a comfy bed. Breakfast was very good, cooked to order or continental and featuring expresso coffee.

The house is well situated in Christchurch. It was an easy walk to what is left of the square, the new Cardboard cathedral, the restart mall, the botanic gardens and many restaurants. We recommend a walk in the gardens, along the avon. Its very beautiful and peaceful in what is a surreal city centre.

We would stay again. It was much more personable than being in a hotel. There were some little touch such as the carafe of cold water in the fridge. The only things I missed was no moisturiser in the bathroom and a clock by the bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennI
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Grange is a Boutique B&B in the main homestead itself and behind is a Motel.
The main house boasts of being entirely built of the strong native timbers Kauri and Totara and survived many quakes.
There are 5 large boutique suites very tastefully decorated with large bathrooms which are very stylish and modern. All necessary toiletries are provided and the Room and bath are heated.A small luggage storage in the room was a bonus.The bed was large and bedding conducive to a good nights sleep.
The rooms are well stocked and the Lone Goat sauvignon Blanc that they had was really good. One thing I missed though was a clock in the room and moisturiser in the bath.
It is situated on the corner of Cramner Square,on Armagh making it the closest to the re:START mall & the Botanic Gardens. Almost most places in the city are within walking distance and there are some good restaurants nearby. Be sure to take a card from the reception to avail of small compliments.
Breakfast is sumptuous and you have a choice of hot and cold with refreshingly freshly brewed coffee. I cannot say the same of the juices which were from the can.
Polite and helpful, they are ready to please you and help out with your queries.
The house itself is quaint and grand. The front is somewhat bare and patches of greenery would certainly add to the look.
Did feel the pricing was a bit steep though.

Room Tip: If your have a lot of luggage please opt for the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 145 in Christchurch
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Property: The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Address: 56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange Guesthouse & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel is situated on the corner of Cramner Square, making us the closest Motel to the re:START Cashel Street mall & the Botanic Gardens. We are the ideal location for guests involved in the rebuild of the City Centre.Classic & contemporary, the newly renovated Grange B&B holds 5 large individually decorated, boutique Suites; all with Queen or Super King beds. The Motel at the rear of the Manor has 4 Studio and 4 1-Bedroom self-contained apartment style units on 2 levels, with modern decor & fittings. Make sure to stop in and grab a complimentary Latte or such from our Barista on your way out for the day!In the vicinity:A leisurely 5-10 minute walk east will find you at Cathedral Square, leading back to The Arts Centre, The Art Gallery & The Canterbury Museum. To our west, is the lovely Botanic Gardens & Hagley Park. We are only a short walk to top class restaurants such as 'Tiffany's' and 'Cook N with Gas' & the newly re-opened 'Coffee House' is 300 metres from Cathedral Grammar & Christ's College. Strolling down the Avon River will lead you to the 're:START' Cashel Street mall. Entertainment can be found at The Christchurch Casino & Victoria Street has many bars & cafes to visit.Free wireless Internet access is available to all guests. Sightseeing tours & onward travel can be arranged. Special requests & group bookings are most welcome.All rooms are Smokefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing