We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Ranked #2 of 140 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Grange was our first port of call on a three week tour of New Zealand. Selected from TA of course, we were warmly greeted by the ubiquitous Linda and shown to a rear 'motel' unit. No complaints at all; clean, tidy, well appointed and free wi-fi to boot. I had a good night's sleep. We didn't breakfast there as we wanted to get on the road.

We were surprised by the devastation in Christchurch - somewhat total in the centre and therefore appreciate that many businesses will have gone to the wall in very difficult circumstances. The Grange is certainly doing its bit in encouraging tourists to visit and leave with a positive view of the City. It's a tough road ahead and this enterprise is to be congratulated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 870 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my sister whilst traveling the south island. We were greeted with a warm welcome by Linda. She had great local knowledge and gave us some wonderful suggestions for dinner that night (Fiddlesticks is just around the corner and just superb). Breakfast both mornings was simple but delicious and coffee fantastic. Location is central and an easy walk around town and the park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamDookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Clean, well laid out, functional and beautifully appointed.
(all the facilities of home) & free wi-fi.
Wonderful breakfast, attentive staff, Linda is a delight and a credit to the hospitality industry.
Within walking distance to city sites and attractions, everything that we required.
Highly Recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Motel is easy to find and it is in a good location - walking distance from the Cathedral Square and main city attractions. Parking is free and they also provide free WiFi. We stayed in a studio apartment, but it was quite spacious, with a balcony, well equipped kitchenette and bathroom. Overall, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the surroundings were quiet. The only negative thing to mention was that coffee/tea did not get restocked during our stay. We would still recommend it for a short stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Christchurch. We stayed here on arrival and before we left Christchurch. Fabulous accommodation, comfy bed and great brekkie, just loved the fresh OJ. Make sure you go to Fiddlesticks for dinner, just around the corner (recommended by The Grange).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This small motel/B&B accommodation was homely, personal and friendly. We were surprised at how well equipped the unit was....everything from hairdryer to kitchen equipment, magazines.... and heated bathroom floor! Lovely tasteful decor inside opening onto a sunny courtyard. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They kept everything spotlessly clean too.
Being so central it was easy to walk and take in the true enormity of the earthquake damage and the typical kiwi ingenuity of getting up and running again by building an attractive shopping centre out of shipping containers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend The Grange to anyone looking for an alternative to large hotel accommodation.
Just a word of advice - the nearest supermarket is a very long walk away so stock up on your way there!

Room Tip: All the motel units are at the back so are well off the road and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helpar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We returned to Christchurch after 37 years. We couldn't have picked a better venue. Des's bacon and egg breakfast got us off to a great start to the day. Linda listened to our tales about when we were last in Ch/ch. and joined in our reminisces. Always gave us an answer to our questions. We stayed at "The Grange" at the beginning and end of our vacation. On both occasions the rooms (No.9 & No.15) were immaculate.The rooms lacked nothing, everything we needed was there, and the free internet was great when we SKYPED the family back in UK. It was sad to see Ch/ch after the earthquake, but "The Grange" was a lovely hotel to return to every evening.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertHD2426BU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 140 in Christchurch
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Address: 56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $95 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange Guesthouse & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel is situated on the corner of Cramner Square, making us the closest Motel to the re:START Cashel Street mall & the Botanic Gardens. We are the ideal location for guests involved in the rebuild of the City Centre.Classic & contemporary, the newly renovated Grange B&B holds 5 large individually decorated, boutique Suites; all with Queen or Super King beds. The Motel at the rear of the Manor has 4 Studio and 4 1-Bedroom self-contained apartment style units on 2 levels, with modern decor & fittings. Make sure to stop in and grab a complimentary Latte or such from our Barista on your way out for the day!In the vicinity:A leisurely 5-10 minute walk east will find you at Cathedral Square, leading back to The Arts Centre, The Art Gallery & The Canterbury Museum. To our west, is the lovely Botanic Gardens & Hagley Park. We are only a short walk to top class restaurants such as 'Tiffany's' and 'Cook N with Gas' & the newly re-opened 'Coffee House' is 300 metres from Cathedral Grammar & Christ's College. Strolling down the Avon River will lead you to the 're:START' Cashel Street mall. Entertainment can be found at The Christchurch Casino & Victoria Street has many bars & cafes to visit.Free wireless Internet access is available to all guests. Sightseeing tours & onward travel can be arranged. Special requests & group bookings are most welcome.All rooms are Smokefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Grange Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing