We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent accommodation in a handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Ranked #1 of 135 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a lovely old building full of character and at the rear are the motel units which blend in well with the main property. The studio style units are spacious, modern but cosy, a little kitchenette and very nice bathroom. The bed was superb and we had the best sleep. Wifi was free and worked well. The location is very handy for everything, and the botanical gardens just across the road. We had a really nice stay here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 847 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

The room was very comfortable and quiet. We can walk to other places easily. The breakfast was very good and delicious with various choices. The room was basically very clean. However, there were stains on the cups. They didn't clean the cups every day. The tea bags / tissues were not refilled and some towels were not changed. Otherwise, I would have rated it excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garfieldHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have no hesitation in recommending The Grange Motel - very comfortable room with quality
inclusions. Our studio unit had a separate kitchenette and bathroom and was within easy walk to restaurants - complimentary shuttle service also available

Room Tip: Our motel room/studio unit was more than adequate - lovely kitchenette and nice bathroom with plent...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeWhy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Grange B&B, what a magnificent building right in the heart of Christchurch CBD. Owner Des and his staff were brilliant with good old hospitality and a lovely cooked breakfast every morning. The rooms were great with very comfortable bed and large ensuite. Could not fault a thing, would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Every room great
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

1st. May Our studio units were beautifully appointed. Warm and cosy. A great place for us to stop on our way to a wedding in the Deep South Accommodating owners. Wonderful location a great find for us indeed

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stugatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good location close to the city. Big room and generous ensuite bathroom. Room was clean, and bed comfortable. The owners accommodated our late night arrival well. Good home cooked breakfast in the morning. For the price it deserves more attention to detail. One of the teacups in the room was cracked, there was no complimentary milk in the room fridge, the soap containers in the bathroom were empty.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had very large ,clean , quiet comfortable room. Excellent helpful , friendly owner and staff. Superb breakfast. Very near large attractive park and outstanding very large , beautiful outdoors botanic garden. Just a block or two from a couple of very good restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,900 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Address: 56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $82 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange Guesthouse & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel is situated on the corner of Cramner Square, making us the closest Motel to the re:START Cashel Street mall & the Botanic Gardens. We are the ideal location for guests involved in the rebuild of the City Centre.Classic & contemporary, the newly renovated Grange B&B holds 5 large individually decorated, boutique Suites; all with Queen or Super King beds. The Motel at the rear of the Manor has 4 Studio and 4 1-Bedroom self-contained apartment style units on 2 levels, with modern decor & fittings. Make sure to stop in and grab a complimentary Latte or such from our Barista on your way out for the day!In the vicinity:A leisurely 5-10 minute walk east will find you at Cathedral Square, leading back to The Arts Centre, The Art Gallery & The Canterbury Museum. To our west, is the lovely Botanic Gardens & Hagley Park. We are only a short walk to top class restaurants such as 'Tiffany's' and 'Cook N with Gas' & the newly re-opened 'Coffee House' is 300 metres from Cathedral Grammar & Christ's College. Strolling down the Avon River will lead you to the 're:START' Cashel Street mall. Entertainment can be found at The Christchurch Casino & Victoria Street has many bars & cafes to visit.Free wireless Internet access is available to all guests. Sightseeing tours & onward travel can be arranged. Special requests & group bookings are most welcome.All rooms are Smokefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Grange Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing