We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The B&B part of the hotel is super cute and classy. The motel part is convenient and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Ranked #2 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The B&B part of the hotel is super cute and classy. The motel part is convenient and comfortable.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel was the loveliest hotel i have stayed in New Zealand. The B&B part is full of character. The Motel part is very comfortable with heater even in the toilet! Internet is super fast. Park right the opposite to the hotel. Shopping street is a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chonakarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    197
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
91
513
84
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great location in dowtown Christchurch. Spacious rooms.
Warm welcome by the host. Even when we showed up much to early we could get in to the room. Which was much appreciated after a 36hrs flight.
Deeply impressed by the impact of the quake but also impressed by the hard work to get the city om its feet again!

Room Tip: Motel rooms have their own kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert221270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Irwin, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family and I had one night at The Grange. We booked the 2-bed room in Christchurch on the tail end of our 2-week New Zealand vacation, and we were disappointed that we didn't get to stay longer.

We were greeted very warmly and shown to our incredible room. The entire hotel was meticulously and impeccably kept. The furnishings are highly appointed and beautiful. Facilities are top-notch, as they are nearly brand new.

The Grange is centrally located with very short walks to excellent dining and parks. The museum 5-minute's walk away is excellent, and The Coffee House is absolutely fabulous.

Breakfast was excellent and cheerfully served by the gracious host.

Our stay was perfect, and we will definitely stay again when we are in Christchurch next.

Room Tip: Book a room early, as they are sought after. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the motel section for 3 nights and found it excellent accommodation. We particularly liked having two rooms so that the bedroom could be shut off from the living room and we didn't mind that the shower room was small especially as the toilet was in a separate room. The owners are going to renovate the rooms and make them into a large studio with a larger bathroom but we liked the room the way it was. We left our hire car in Picton and caught the train down to Christchurch so we had to rely on foot to get around. We found there was no need for a car as The Grange is central to the red area, the museum, the shopping district, restaurants and the Botanic Gardens. It is also far enough away from the red area so that the earthquake damage is not so confronting when you walk outside. The other hotels in Christchurch are surrounded by noisy building works so we enjoyed the peace and quiet at The Grange. Des was particularly helpful in organizing shuttles to the Tranzalpine train and to the airport at the end of our stay. They also did our clothes washing for free as a benefit for staying 3 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in this nice B&B for 3 nights. King size bed room was really comfortable, clean and quiet, so could sleep very well. We had to leave very early in the morning, but Mr. Ramsey arranged everything (check-out, taxi reservation, etc), so there's nothing to worry. If we can visit Christchurch in future, want to stay in the Grange Guesthouse again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sei3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at The Grange Guesthouse for 1 night only on our way around the south island. Service and hospitality were excellent, very central... only a short 5-10 mins walk into CBD. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Major renovations have been completed since the earthquake of 2011, now very modern but still with old world charm. Great restaurant, Fiddlesticks, less than 5 mins walk. Would certainly recommend The Grange.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 274KarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Near the red district and the park. Clean, not too small. The kitchen is very well furnish. The staff is helpful and very nice.
The only problem was the vibration we could hear from the bathroom extractor of the unit next to us and the fact the walls are not well sound proof. You know when your neibourghs arrive and when they are leaving (early in the morning).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadyan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,836 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 145 in Christchurch
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Property: The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Address: 56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange Guesthouse & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel is situated on the corner of Cramner Square, making us the closest Motel to the re:START Cashel Street mall & the Botanic Gardens. We are the ideal location for guests involved in the rebuild of the City Centre.Classic & contemporary, the newly renovated Grange B&B holds 5 large individually decorated, boutique Suites; all with Queen or Super King beds. The Motel at the rear of the Manor has 4 Studio and 4 1-Bedroom self-contained apartment style units on 2 levels, with modern decor & fittings. Make sure to stop in and grab a complimentary Latte or such from our Barista on your way out for the day!In the vicinity:A leisurely 5-10 minute walk east will find you at Cathedral Square, leading back to The Arts Centre, The Art Gallery & The Canterbury Museum. To our west, is the lovely Botanic Gardens & Hagley Park. We are only a short walk to top class restaurants such as 'Tiffany's' and 'Cook N with Gas' & the newly re-opened 'Coffee House' is 300 metres from Cathedral Grammar & Christ's College. Strolling down the Avon River will lead you to the 're:START' Cashel Street mall. Entertainment can be found at The Christchurch Casino & Victoria Street has many bars & cafes to visit.Free wireless Internet access is available to all guests. Sightseeing tours & onward travel can be arranged. Special requests & group bookings are most welcome.All rooms are Smokefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing