We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will return to the Country Glen!”
Review of Country Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Glen Lodge
Ranked #50 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will return to the Country Glen!”
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Spent my last night in New Zealand here before returning to CHC airport. We booked it on the fly while driving up from Lake Tekapo and liked the friendly service on the phone and the price, so we decided to give it a shot. Most rooms are set back from the road and face a central courtyard/parking area. Nice flower baskets and cute garden ornaments around the property. Service is very friendly. Wireless internet available in the rooms w/various blocks of time available for purchase (you can buy a half-hour of service up to 24 hrs. or even a week I believe). Room was spacious, clean and modern with a nice kitchenette. Heard no noise from Bealey Ave. which was a plus. Convenient location - about 15min. walk to city center. Would definitely return - price was comparable to another motel where we stayed in the beginning of our trip, but the room was more spacious. If you have difficulty managing stairs, request a room on the ground floor.

  • Liked — spacious, modern rooms, nice service
  • Disliked — that I didn't have time to stay longer!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madmonkey718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
50
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stayed only 2 nights but couldn't fault it at any time.
A 10 minute stroll to the centre of town so it was nice to abandon our car while we were there.
We had only just arrived on the south island and our host made some excellent suggestions for our onward trip which we found to be most helpful.
The property was well maintained and spotlessly clean (we had no problems with our shower!) Internet access was available, but it would have been nicer if it was free!

  • Liked — Convenient location, helpful host.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AudB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellyandmatt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

This hotel is in a convenient location surrounded by many other hotels. An easy walk (10 min) to the city, or a convenient bus stop just a short walk away.

The desk person was a character. Checked us in, showed us to our room and gave us some milk for tea and coffee, shared with us a few odd stories. But i think was trying to be friendly.

The rooms were clean and tidy. Nice surroundings. The bathroom was large with a bath and shower. The price reflected the standard of the room and it was as we had expected.

The street noise from cars and people was unfortunately very loud during our stay during the day and all night. We were not on the main road, but sadly this did spoil things a little from lack of sleep - but in saying that this was nothing the lodge could control.

Also the lodge had handy onsite parking. Our room was cleaned daily. However the tea/coffee etc was not replenished (stayed 4 nights).

I would recommed to a budget conscious traveller who would like to be close to all the amenities and does not mind the noise.
I personally wouldnt stay for a romantic type getaway.

There are many other hotel along the street, many options to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

Very accommodating front desk owner. Clean and comfortable room with gas fireplace rather than a space heater. Two nice recliners in the living room (separate bedroom.) Convenient to the historical center of Christchurch and only minutes from the airport.

  • Liked — Convenient, charming, clean
  • Disliked — Ours was a corner unit with city streets on each side.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeitaLuetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Karen at the Country Glen Lodge was very knowledgeable and helped us make reservations on the Tranz Alpine Scenic railway getting us a fantastic discounted rate.
The Motel deserves its 4* rating. Rooms are well appointed, spacious with a bed in the sitting room and a double bed in the bedroom.
Shower is a bit aimless and does spray the entire bathroom, but the pressure was great and the bathroom was huge. We were on the ground floor - Room 6 I believe and thought the motel was great value for money and only a 10 minute walk to the downtown core. The closest supermarket is a good 25 minutes walk.
Motel has alot of greenery and flowers and is very picturesque.
Would highly recommend this motel to anyone.
Peter, Toronto, Canada

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Panache4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

Stayed 3 nights here. In general the place was convenient and comfortable.
Agree with other post in that shower sprayed aimlessly onto the floor managing to get the floor all wet even with closed door.

The main problem we experienced here is that both we and the hotel agreed that we had prepaid accomodation prior to arrival, but motel charged my credit card after we left anyway!
This caused us a great deal of stress as my card was declined further on our Honeymoon. Yay. Why we were told my card payment was 'processed no problems' on the 4th Aug then charged on my card 2 weeks later.

  • Liked — proximity
  • Disliked — noisy heater, shower, cleaner kept leaving windows open
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hitched_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2006

Country Glen is ideally located: away from the hustle and bustle of the CBD, but only a few blocks from Cathedral Square, the Arts Centre and many other attractions.

In addition it deservedly has a "4-star-plus" rating, with all rooms having quality fittings and furniture - and lots of lovely hanging baskets of flowers!

The friendly, helpful service of the owners/managers was another plus. We'd certainly stay there again.

Helpful?
6 Thank TimSWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#32 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#27 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#62 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Glen Lodge

Property: Country Glen Lodge
Address: 107 Bealey Avenue | Central City, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Glen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Country Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Glen Hotel
Country Glen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing