We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay.”
Review of Country Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Glen Lodge
Ranked #51 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely stay.”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The room was very cozy and we received excellent, friendly service. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
50
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Owners Heather & Ian Swale are just marvelous! Wonderfully down-to-earth people, and its this country charm that is reflected in their property! Our room was equipped with everything you'd expect, plus the little extras like salt & peppers shakers, coffee plunger (and complimentary ground coffee), real milk in a bottle (not the uht stuff), sugar and instant coffee in containers...yes containers - not satchets! And everything we needed to cook ourselves a home-made meal. Heather was fantastic in accommodating our needs - a 5am appointment with a hot air balloon - she offered to store our luggage until we returned later that morning. Oh and I nearly forgot to mention: his and her white towelling robes in the bedrrom too!! Nice touch! I'm sending my parents over to NZ next year and I'll definitely be booking them into this "home away from home"! D.Shaw Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I was looking for somewhere to stay at about 8:30pm and the reception here was open later than most and the price was reseasonable, so it was an easy option. Room was clean and free wireless internet was impressive and exactly what I needed. They have just completed some minor refurbishment and there was plenty of parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qualitycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed here on the first and last nights of our 2 week trip to the South Island of New Zealand. Ian and Heather our hosts, were always very helpful and accommodating with our frequent enquiries about things to do and places to eat. We recommend trying Speights Ale House further down Bealey Ave as a great place for dinner even with younger children. One of the best meals we had in New Zealand which was on our last night. Both the rooms we occupied were very clean and well appointed. One small issue would be some traffic noise from the adjoining streets depending on which unit you occupy but we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJNZTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We had booked into Tuscana Lodge for the next night, but on arriving in Christchurch a day ahead of schedule the Tuscana were fully booked so they helpfully arranged for us to stay across the road at The Country Glen Lodge. We were pleased with the accommodation it was a spacious one bed apartment, for $145, $10 more than the studio at Tuscana.

The kitchen & bathroom facilities were good.

The owner Ian was friendly & helpful, and even let me use his old laptop to access the internet. They are currently undergoing some disruption following the earthquake, and the large old building in the centre of the complex is closed as unsafe. This means they have relocated their office (? and their home?) into one of the motel units which is a still a little chaotic.

We were a little disturbed first thing in the morning by the traffic as our bedroom was close to the road, and in the daytime, as the previous reviewer says, there was an annoying loud ringing whenever the phone rang, however I didn't ever hear this at night and assumed the loudspeaker was turned off then.

In the end we also stayed the second night at Country Glen, to help out Tuscana who had a guest who wanted to extend their stay, though Colin from Tuscana still kindly drove us to the airport as arranged early the next morning.

I think if we returned to Christchurch we would either try the Tuscana or maybe try and stay somewhere nearer to the city centre as it was quite a long walk, however I'm sure that would involve more dollars!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This was a nice place to stay. At first...

Ian, the owner was pleasant and easy to talk to. He does tend to keep going if you dont tell him politely to stop. Sometimes you just want to get going or if you have had a long day, you just want to get in your room.

First stay here was great, no problems. Clean, spacious and at a good price.
Second stay was sleep less. I absolutely hated the phone ringing out side. They have a massive speaker hooked up to the phone system and as soon as they got a call, the phone would ring and blast the whole place with a ringing sound. Very unpleasant.

Not sure if I will come back because of that.

I loved the bathrooms though. Clean, and showers were like a massive cubical. Soap dispensers were great. Shower heads could do with a bit more flexibility. They had limited angles you could point them at.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max_critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This was my 5th time staying at the Country Glen Lodge.You couldnt ask for a better location. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff are friendly and full of great advice. Next time we will be using the conference facilities for are markrting. The Country Glen offer the package, great rooms,great location and great value. Thank you once again.I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovinglifeNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#31 of 144 in Christchurch
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#58 of 144 in Christchurch
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#27 of 144 in Christchurch
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#75 of 144 in Christchurch
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Glen Lodge

Property: Country Glen Lodge
Address: 107 Bealey Avenue | Central City, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Glen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Country Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Glen Hotel
Country Glen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing