We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap stay - you get what you pay for”

Central Park Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Park Motor Lodge
New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Cheap stay - you get what you pay for”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Christchurch in order to do the Trans Alpine Train ride (FANTASTIC). Booked ahead of time for a motel for family, reasonably close ot the rail station. Andrew the Manager speaks and understands English as his second language, which was a definited problem for us in communicating. On arrival - checked in - filled out the guest details and as I handed the form (including my credit card details) back to the Manager - I noticed that the form had another persons details on the back. I explained to the Manager that this was confidential information and should NOT be shared by anyone .. the managers friend or staff member (not sure) who was in the office said, "oh we are trying to save paper". Not impressed.
In the room, all fairly basic, but okay - we were only paying $165 per night for 2 adults and 2 children, so as I say, you get what you pay for. Shower did have evidence of mold around the edges and the drain cover for the shower was broken and dirty. No tea towel to dry the dishes, so off to the office to ask for one. Neither the Manager or his assistant were able to understand what I was asking for despite my attempts at "charades" to explain my request. Firstly another 2 dish clothes (the size of a piece of office paper) were produced, then a large bath towel. Finally the assistant said he had a towel that he bought at briscoes - perfect, although obviously had been in the hot dryer as only 1/2 the size a tea towel usually is ... but it did the job. Extra bed (queen size) was placed in the lounge to accommodate the 4 of us - there were no springs in the base, and although I slept rather well, hubby woke with a sore back as a result. Main bedroom bed (double) was just fine. Our room was upstairs and near the back of the complex, so road traffic (off the busy Riccarton Road) was good from a noise point of view.
Advertising indicated that free shuttle to the train station was offered, the manager was able to organise that very promptly which was appreciated.

Having said all this which sounds fairly negative, Andrew the Manager was a pleasant young man and was trying to please, but at a guess, not a lot of training in the motel business (tourism industry) and certainly development in his conversational english would be of great benefit to the business.
We were looking for accommodation for a stay again in October, we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Motel right on Riccarton Road, a busy road, easy access to main highways, but if you want a quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwilanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    11
    7
    13
See reviews for
12
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

on holiday with my husband recovering after surgery, just wanted to chill out and relax, toilet was dirty shower was dirty towels were old and fraying, no bedlights.........could not read in bed as main light in centre of room was of really low watt, electric blankets did not work. talked to manager who said he had been in motel business for 7 yrs, said a lot of things old need replaced, we can understand that, but there is no need for uncleanliness, the toilet seat was yellow in the front and peeling, tried to talk to cleaner...... she could not understand ... the only good thing was the bed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joybelle176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good accommodation about 10-15 minutes amble into central Christchurch via parkland. Very helpful front desk and we were upgrade to a bigger room at no charge. Rooms comfortable, basic and clean perfect for our overnight stay. Internet extra $NZ5.00. Did not have breakfast but had dinner at pub a few doors down the road, which was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidT1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights (Saturday and Sunday). The room was just average/basic but did the job we needed it to do. The person who checked us in could not have been more helpful he helped us find the places we needed to be and looked the information up for us.

Being a Saturday night the motel is a few doors down from a big pub so it was very loud in our room, I felt like the party was right outside our room when we got back to our room fairly late from being out and about.

The location was great, very central to everything, for the price it was ok, very loud on a wend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
243 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The motel is situated on Riccarton road right by the main park if you like going for runs. Due to the accommodation constraints in Christchurch we were lucky to get a room. The rooms are mixed (best way I can describe it). My bed was exceptionally comfortable and warm however the couch was old saggy and extremely uncomfortable. Huge TV in the lounge unit but poor reception and channels out of order. Attention to detail and a few upgrades required in my opinion but ok

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xoxLuxyxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is relatively convenient to Christchurch (close to Hagley park and hospital), located in outskirts of nearby suburb Riccarton. Lots of hotels along Riccarton Road, most of them No Vacancy (March 2013) as occupied with Cantabrians made homeless by the earthquake. In particular- this place allows those Christchurch residents staying there until there homes are sorted, to bunk down with their pets in tow- which i think is a nice thing to do and shows some compassion- so brownie points here!!

Having said all that- as a traveller, this place is not 4 star. 3 at best, as it is tired in decor and furnishings and could do with some serious freshening up. Bed comfy. Moderate noise level- did not impact too much on sleep even though we were located close to the road. Bathroom small, kitchen basic as typical for a studio. Compared to other nice places we stayed at around South Island, this was over priced by about $10-15. per night. We only stayed the one night so I guess it was fine for what we needed. In the past i have always stayed in central CBD but not possible post the quake. We needed to drive to source some tea. There is Riccarton shopping mall up the road with some okay dining in the strip around it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escapingfr0mw0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having made an error with dates at preferred accomodation and finding out there was no vacancy at the place the receptionist range around and found a vacancy at this Motel. She very kindly booked it for me as I was desperate even though it was way above my price range, within 5 minutes we had discovered we could fit in the first choice hotel by sharing with people we knew who were staying at the first place as well. We rang Central Park straight away to cancel and they said they would still charge our credit card as we had made the booking. We opted to go to Central Park and stay rather than pay for two lots of accom. When we arrived we were told they had rented our room as we had cancelled over the phone but they were still charging us for the room. We stood our ground & stayed at Central Park and found it shabby with towels & bathmat you wouldnt use on your dog. We were in NZ for 4 weeks & this was the only place we were treated so badly and it has left an unpleasant taste in our mouth, just greedy!

Room Tip: Dont stay here, way too expensive for what you got, not even Wi Fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#60 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christchurch City Park Motel
Christchurch City Park Motel
#91 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hagley Park Motel
Hagley Park Motel
#107 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aalton Motel
Aalton Motel
#54 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#86 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Motor Lodge

Property: Central Park Motor Lodge
Address: 15 Riccarton Road | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Park Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Central Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing