We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casino Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #79 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent service and friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Excellent location, walking distance to Merival and Christchruch Cantre.
We had an excellent stay for 6 nights with wonderful service.
Thanks

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holiday09Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
25
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stopped at this lovely motel only 10 mins walk outside of central Christchurch and were very happy with the room and service provided. The owners seemed very willing to help us and knew a lot about the local area even pointing out a fantastic route for me to have a jog around the close by Hagley Park.

The rooms were spotless and were nicely designed with plenty of room and we felt for the price that we had made the right choice. We will happily return next time we are in Christchurch

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craiggoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

I've stayed at Casino Court at least a couple of times a year for several years now and it has become like my home away from home when I am flying in and out of Christchurch. Super easy to get to from the airport and then be within walking distance of most things I need to be near for a day or two in Christchurch.

Matt and Reetah recognise me as a regular customer and I've had the opportunity to stay in both the standard and superior units. The freindly and personal service they give is probably the hook that will keep me coming back. They do go out of their way to make you welcome and comfortable at Casino Court.

Thanks and see you again soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiveStarVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

Myself and my family have stayed at this motel on several occasions now whilst visiting New Zealand. The young couple who run the motel couldn´t do enough to help us and the rooms are big, spacious, and modern. The location of the motel is great - not right in the center of the city, but close enough to walk or get a short cab ride to (if you´re not feeling fit!). There are plenty of restaurants nearby and of course the casino is close, which was a great night out. While it does not have the luxury of a hotel (no bar or restaurant) if you are looking a good value place to stay then I would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank englishgypsy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Casino Court during a recent tour of New Zealand and when comparing it to other places we stayed across the country we found this property to provide great value for money , a convenient location and a management couple that clearly cared about their guests needs.

I found the unit to be clean and tidy and would highly recommend Casino Court to any other travellers needing a central Christchurch location.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed at the Casino Court Motor Lodge for our wedding anniversary, as we where from out of town it was the only place we could find that advertised having its own private Spa Pool with the room. On arrival into the room it was not as modern as one would expect for the price. The couch's looked like they had passed there due by date and the curtains definately needed upgrading also. On the website it shows pictures of cane wickerbasket draw sets, and beautiful headboards etc well we had none of this in our room, and im assuming as this is one of the more expensive rooms due to the spa pool i believe the standard should have been higher.

The cleanleness of the room was adequte only just. Would not have liked to stay there more than one night.

The breakfasts where also a wee bit dissapointing, $15 for a cooked breakfast in the morning which consisted of 2 little cocktail sausages, 2 eggs and 2 pieces of bacon on 2 pieces of toast. If you want more toast they supplied bread for you to cook yourself.

The Motor Lodge was also full the night we stayed and because of the small premises, parking was also a wee bit too close for comfort for us also, especially since they have lavender bushes right where you park your car and as it was summer was full of bees !! My husband had to stop and let me out before parking the car.

These lavendar bushes are right outside your front door downstairs also, and it was a hot day when we stayed. We would have liked to have maybe been able to open our front door as there was no air conditioning in the unit but didnt in fear of the bees coming into the room.

However in all fairness we did not mention any of this to the hosts of the Motor Lodge, we dont like to make a scene, and i choose not to fill in the card on the table at the Motor Lodge commenting on my stay, i guess because at the time i was fearful of someone seeing it before we left and asking us about it. It has only been since talking to other people about our experience that i have decided to say something.

The hosts where definately friendly though, and im sorry not have mentioned anything while i was there, but im sure you can understand our reasons as to why we didnt.

I hate to say it but we wont be staying here again, or recommending it to anybody we know.

- R & C Williams

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharRayWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

We stayed here for 10 days on our honeymoon. It was absolutely filthy!! The only reason we did not leave was because there was no other motel available for that amount of time due to the Ellerslie flower show being on. The shower had mould in it. The bathroom was not cleaned properly while we were there. There were lots of cobwebs on the ceiling that obviously hadn’t been vacuumed for a while.

On the second day I had to move the couch to plug in my laptop and the amount of dust that was under it was appalling it looked like it hadn’t been vacuumed for months. So we rung up to let them no. They ended up giving us the vacuum cleaner. We vacuumed under the couch and then looked under the other couch and the bed and it was the same. So I went to reception and asked them to come and have a look at it and clean it for us. He came over and finished vacuuming.

We also had a couple of drinks on the third night while we were in the spa pool and a bottle got left on the ground, the cleaner did not pick it up the whole time we stayed there.

When we left they made no attempt at saying sorry.

I would not recommend this to anyone and to be quite honest they ruined out honeymoon. We were wanting a nice clean place to stay for our honeymoon but nothing to fancy due to price restrictions but with paying $150 per night we expected allot better, instead we got a run down dirty motel room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank married89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattmitch1, owner/manager at Casino Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2009
We were naturally devastated to read such a scathing review of one of our units. We have always operated under the policy of “If you are happy, tell your friends – If not, tell us”.

We are on site 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and are available to our guests at any time to rectify any matter that does not meet their expectations. In the rare instances that this occurs, we remedy the problem promptly, render an apology immediately and then usually supply the guest with either a box of chocolates or a bottle of wine thanking them for their understanding. We supply within our units AA guest satisfaction surveys, so that if the guest is not comfortable talking to us directly, they are able to leave us a note telling us what they liked or what we could improve.

We have searched our database and have no record of these guests staying with us, we have absolutely no recollection, nor any written record of the litany of complaints allegedly endured by them. We are mystified that anyone would apparently suffer for 10 whole days of their honeymoon without once saying something to us directly.

We take comfort in the fact that previous entries praise our motel’s cleanliness and our helpfulness as managers and will now actively encourage our many regular customers to review us within this forum in support of our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#50 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathern Motor Lodge
Strathern Motor Lodge
#12 of 102 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delago Motel Apartments
Delago Motel Apartments
#125 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merivale Court Motel
Merivale Court Motel
#127 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Court Motor Lodge

Property: Casino Court Motor Lodge
Address: 76 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casino Court Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Court Motor Lodge offers Modern, Spacious, affordable accommodation in central Christchurch. Park the car up and walk to all that the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casino Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing