We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay great value for money”
Review of Hotel Carlton Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Mill
Ranked #73 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed with our family in the apartment for one night was very nice and warm with good views had a meal In Strawberry Fare restaurant wonderful desserts ,great access to Restaurant as was pouring with rain didn't get to see much of Christchurch lovely park right opposite hotel great for the kids would stay again think you may have the wrong photo of this hotel on your site as the place does not look anything like this

Room Tip: Rooms on west side get late sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 91 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

The hotel is in convenient location and clean.The staff is very helpful.It is next to Hagley park and thus the CBD.There are a lot of good restaurant around.There is no porter but plenty of parking.There is no restaurant on site.Price is reasonable.

Room Tip: There is no porter,so room at lower follr is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamSt_Louis_U_S_A_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My partner stayed at Carlton Mill for 3 nights in December, then another 3 nights in January. On both occasions all staff were informative, helpful and extremely friendly. The motel was comfortable, walking distance to town and I would not hesitate to stay there again, or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanbibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

at a cost of $130 a night was very expensive considering we stayed in another motel the night after for the same price and is was brand new and clean.
the carpet was a bit damp when we arrived and due to having a wet carpet and the room been locked up it had a very strong musty smell the duvet cover was stained and the balcony was fill of cigarette ash and cobwebs was very disappointed in the carlton mill.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank farmers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Our family stayed here on New Years as we couldn't really find accommodation anywhere else. We decided to go to Christchurch at the last minute and so everywhere else was booked out for our family of 7

Unfortunately they could not accommodate us in one room so they gave us 2 rooms at $100NZD a night per room which was OK as it meant we had 2 of everything (bathrooms, toilet etc).

The rooms are comfortable if nothing glamorous as is the bathroom. We weren't too concerned as it really was just a place to rest while we toured around the city. Our rooms had a double and a single bed in them and if you are over 6 feet tall then you really don't want a double as your feet are hanging over the bed all night.

They didn't have Sky TV so the TV viewing was pretty limited. The internet is expensive at $6 for a half hour and it's wireless which means the speed wasn't fantastic. I opted at going into city to an internet cafe which was only 5 minutes away.

The hotel is three stories high and has no elevator which didn't really concern us but older people might find it a hindrance unless they stay on the ground floor.

The location is very handy to town and pretty much central to everything else. There is a Burger King next door so if you ever get hungry at night you can just go for a quick stroll.

The staff is very helpful and friendly and they went out of their way to help with any questions we had so that in itself made it a good stay.

We would stay there again if stuck for accommodation but will probably try elsewhere next time just to experience another place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NesianStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Very friendly reception, we booked for 2 separate nights on our 1st day of the trip and last day in NZ and they without hesitation charged us immediately for both. So in our mind we have to rush back on time no matter what during our last day because we paid for the room already... wasn't very nice to know at the start although we were well prepared.

Our room is on second floor and there's no lifts... to our great disappointment. The stairs not that high so the heavy suitcases were good for muscle training for the rest of our trip in sourth island. We had never seen the restuarant open either. The room itself is pretty average but roomy, however, the balcony was connected to the room nextdoor. This was the first place I tried NZ stupidest shower tap design. The knob is a one-way turn from cold to hot with no in between options and the water stream was pretty strong (again no adjustment possible). As I was a tourist not knowing this kind of taps, I wasnt impressed that I had to be splashed by a stream of cold water in the middle of a cold night before getting my hot water.

We rented a car next day as well but it took me so long to find a way to get into that one way drive in front of the motel as there were so many no right turns single ways in NZ it was really not funny. But we loved the petrol station right next door. It was a good average but given there were so many other choice in town, we could have chosen a better location to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

For $75 for 3 people with free parking passes the value test of a standard motel, especially as it is not far from the CBD. There are stairs to navigate to get to your room, so it is preferable not to have too much luggage if you are on an upper floor. The negative about the room was only having a double bed. It is a bit tricky getting to the motel as it is near an intersection where you are unable to turn right, and we ended up doing u-turns in the first side street. There is also a restaurant upstairs in the building which seems to have closed down a while ago, which does not create a positive vibe about the place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalwynCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#70 of 146 in Christchurch
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
100 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#100 of 146 in Christchurch
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Mill

Address: 17 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Carlton Mill Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $80 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Carlton Mill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hill Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing