We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel, exactly what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel & Apartments
Ranked #68 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at the Bella Vista Motel for 2 nights immediately after we landed in Christchurch after flying directly from London and was greeted at reception with a big smile from Jane and the offer of a map with directions of what we could do during our afternoon in Christchurch (as we already had a full day trip planned for the following day). We've never stayed in Motel's before so we were not completely sure what to expect but the room was in perfectly good condition with all the basic facilities we needed for our stay. We had no need to contact reception again until check out and Tim was very helpful, giving my husband clear directions to our next location. I would recommend this place to anybody stopping by for a few nights on their own New Zealand adventure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thanks for the great comments. It was great to have you to stay with us. Hope that we see you back in New Zealand in the near future. Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 100 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

Good motel and suited our needs for a disabled unit. Staff very helpful in providing extra towels and advice on where to go, and things to see. It is quite safe, and the people of Christchurch need visitors to stay in business, so please go and stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roryhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for two weeks in August, with my fiancée's 3 year old son, who lives in Chch.

At first we were a bit put off by the fact that we had to carry our bags up two flights of stairs, and when you are away for 2 weeks in a cold country you tend to have heavy bags.

In our two weeks there the bathroom constantly made dripping noises, cupboards and doors would close by themselves if we hadn't closed them and the dishwasher left half the dishes dirty.

Then there was the service. One day we had to leave in a bit of a rush and we left our breakfast dishes out (cereal and toast). when we go back later that day we received a phone call to say that the room had been left in an unacceptable state.
My fiancée had a blood nose one night and we woke up with blood on the sheets, they didn't change these sheets for 3 days.
We had house keeping come into our rooms early in the morning when we were still in bed, and even when asked to come back later didn't leave.
We left a pile of rubbish by the door (it was the little mans birthday and he got some new toys) and they left it there for the entire stay.
They cleaned the bath with domestos or something similar, but didn't clean it properly, so that when we used the bath later that night we all had red rashes from it affecting our skin.
The Internet wasn't working, and when we called the service desk for some help, they said that their Internet worked fine so its our own problem. when we get it working it was extremely slow.

Also, in the room that had the two single beds in it (the one where our 3 year old slept), there was the hot water unit in one of the cupboards with no locks at all, so he could have hurt himself badly.

By the end of the second week we were ready to leave there and find alternate accommodation. There wasn't anything else available for a full week so we finished stayed there, hating every minute of it. We will DEFINITELY not go back there, and would (and do) tell everyone not to go there. Terrible value for money and terrible service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmyAimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

This is the first time we have had felt the need to respond to a Trip Adviser review. Generally, we accept with quiet gratitude positive comments, make adjustments where we can following constructive criticism and accept negative comments relating to items beyond our control - (location/ room size etc).
PORTAGE- It is generally accepted that Motels although often assist guests with luggage, do not offer or advertise this service.
MAINTENANCE - We are extremely grateful following the Christchurch Earthquakes to have a structurally sound building (Engineer inspected). We find ourselves on a long waiting list for minor repairs to be attended to, and appreciate the understanding and acceptance of our guests for these small inconveniences beyond our control

SERVICE - A quick call to Reception by these guests to notify us that a late service or no service was required would have prevented them from being disturbed. With regard to the criticism of the standard of service... This was the only time in our long experience in operating a Motel we have refused to allow our staff to enter a unit due to the unacceptable mess and hygiene issues created by a guest.

If these guests had contacted us directly we would have been more than happy to assist them in finding alternative accommodation.

Tim and Janet Henderson
Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I'm not used to staying in motels and we were only in there for 1 night without a car (arrived by plane and left by train) but it was fine. Certainly can't complain about the space - two floors with sleeping and living accommodation. Breakfast delivered to the room the previous night - NZ$15 each if I recall correctly - comprised a small box of cereal, carton of milk, small juice and some toast/butter. With the city centre being closed motels are mostly what there is left to overnight in. If you do stay here we can highly recommend a hearty meal and some rousing Irish singing (when we were there anyway) in the Speight's Ale House further along Bealey Avenue.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Our room was clean and tidy but rather small. The staff were friendly and the grounds of the complex were well presented. Staff were accomodating in allowing us a late checkout and leave our vehicle there till midday.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlendaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This motel is on the main road which makes it very noisy( have stayed twice). I had a downstairs unit and the sound from the room above carries down.

However clean and tidy but a bit overpriced for what you get

Room Tip: TRy to get an upstaire room as these are quieter
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Staff are really helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfy for a short stay. Good location. Definitely a good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ban1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#32 of 146 in Christchurch
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
1.6 mi away
Christchurch City Park Motel
Christchurch City Park Motel
#105 of 146 in Christchurch
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
726 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel & Apartments

Address: 193 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $76 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel and Apartments is located within 15 minutes flat walk of the Central City. Newly renovated, our property has been assessed by Qualmark  (independent accreditation) as 4 star quality accommodation, and we have also been awarded a Qualmark Enviro Bronze Rating for our sustainable tourism practices. Our superior smoke free Christchurch accommodation includes a variety of studios and one to three bedroom units and apartments. Our purpose built access units have been designed with parking at the door for your convenience. You have a choice of king, queen or single beds with electric blankets for the cooler nights. We are easy to find on Bealey Avenue. Our great location makes it an easy walk to the city centre, Casino and Southern Cross hospital, tourist attractions, the information office, restaurants, bars and entertainment. You can be assured of a warm welcome at reception where we will assist you in every way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing