We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

A nice stop over on the way to Takaka. Spacious enough with two bedrooms. Kitchen was good size with microwave. Great for two adults two children with three small children was abit on the small size but great affordabilty for a quick one night stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    65
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
70
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We pitched our tent on a compact site which is probably typical for a holiday resort. Very friendly office lady walked us to our site. Very clean and modern baths and kitchen. No cooking utensils or dinner ware, not a big deal to us. My problem was the lounge/sitting area. Very comfortable but they Lock It Up from about 9pm until 8am next morning. I usually am up by 6:30 and like to have my coffee and watch the news on TV if available, or at least sit in a comfortable chair. Can't watch a movie at night because most don't start until 8:30pm and end after the room is locked for the night. For most people it is no big deal but for $40/ngt for a campsite I expected a little more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vmn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed in both an ensuite and studio unit over the 3 nights we were there. The units were immaculate, very clean and tidy. The communal facilities were better than most other parks we've stayed at, clean and well maintained. The gardens are beautiful. The holiday park is close to a bus stop and conveniently close to shops & the city centre. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 213SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The holiday park is surround by flowers just make us feel like living in the garden. We do felt the bathroom too small make me hard to move. The water pressure are slow and hot water being interrupt when many people using at the same time. Tent site can be consider relatively small too. The good side is the location, it close to Riccarton shopping centre and very quite and overall very clean and tidy holiday park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the city for a family celebration. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Although we had booked the tiniest room (a Tourist Cabin) we still felt comfortable and we enjoyed easy access to a clean kitchen, tv room and toilet block nearby. The ensuite toilet and shower is very small in the tourist cabin so book a bigger room for extra comfort and fewer skinned elbows ;-) I was surprised by the lack of road noise since we were in the units closest to the busy street. Next time we will book a larger room, maybe even the immaculate motel units located amidst rose gardens at the back of the property. Clean property, charming gardens and thoughtful set up. I even photographed it to show to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Tourist cabins are very tiny - suitable for one night stay? Ask for a room in the 2nd row of units b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvousplait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

My final last two night of my NZ trip i stayed at the Kiwi Amber Holiday Park. I guess I saved the best for the last. I stayed at over 20 campgrounds during my visit to NZ and i have to say Amber Holiday Park was the best. I stayed at other Kiwi Holiday Parks and they were all good. But the people at Amber were so friendly and the place was so clean. It was quiet and quite close to downtown. Great location, easy to find and the buses run right by it. I had a rental but i chose to use the bus service because it was so close and efficient. They have motel units there as well, didn't go in any, but them seemed really nice as well. So if I'm in Christchurch again, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: every site comes with its own picnic table, from what i saw. Which most parks didn't offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berniehara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here on our first night in NZ. We arrived at Amber Park around 6pm. The owner is friendly. The room given to us was right beside the busy road but inside the room, we hear no noise. The room is really small for 3 luggages to be placed in the room at the same time. Although the room and toilet is small, everything is sufficient. I think the carpet and place needs some thorough cleaning as my family felt itchy the whole night. If you are driving, before you check in, park beside the reception area and not anywhere else. We didnt know the rules. No free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amberpark, Manager at Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your views on an Ensuite Cabin (our most economical unit) following your recent stay. We are suprised and disappointed about your comments on cleaning. Our units are thoroughly cleaned after every guest checks out, and we pride ourselves on our quality of cleanliness. (As other guest's reviews support.) All I can guess is if our laundry detergent or whitening product disagreed with you. We do apologise for any discomfit, whatever the cause. Please feel free to phone us on our 0800 freephone line if you wish to discuss this further.
Regards Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.7 mi away
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.7 mi away
North South Holiday Park
North South Holiday Park
#13 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Christchurch Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Christchurch Kiwi Holiday Park &...
#31 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.7 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#10 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch

Property: Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch
Address: 308 Blenheim Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Kiwi Holiday Park is a small, inner-city Holiday Park located 4km south west of the city centre; we are centrally located between the Christchurch Airport & downtown Christchurch. As Christchurch's closest Holiday Park to the CBD, we have a bus stop at the gate so we couldn't be more convenient. Set on sheltered, landscaped grounds with ultra-clean facilities. We are owner-operators and our customers are very important to us. We take personal responsibility to ensure that your stay with us is a happy one, and that you enjoy a warm and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing