We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My sister was flying out to Sydney on 1 of those horrible early morning flights, so as she was staying out at Darfield, I shouted her a hotel room. Going onto Tripadvisor I saw that the Gateway had a good reputation with the Tripadvisor readers. I exchanged several Emails with Gateway and decided that this was the place for my sister. Like a previous reviewer, my sister had also just had an operation on her ankle. Management moved her downstairs and really looked after her, taking her meals to her room, and collecting her from her room next morning to take her to the Airport. She said that the room was excellent, as was the food. The other big attraction of the Gateway is that they allow guests with cars to park them on the property while they go overseas. From what my sister told me, I highly recommend the Gateway if you need a place close to Christchurch International Airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russianiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Exactly the experience we aim for our guests to receive.
Cheers,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
There are newer reviews for Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice,clean,very help full and friendly staff, close to airport and the transfers to and from was no l hassle at all....GREAT.
Only problem was the shower in the top floor unit has a high step into it and my wife when getting out of the shower misjudged the height and slipped and had a bad fall.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for the review.
Sorry to hear about your wife's fall, I hope she has fully recovered.
We look forward to accommodating you next time your in Christchurch.
Cheers,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Food is awful. lacks flavour and inspiration. very basic meal. We ate 3x due to conference and quality was poor.Rooms need an overhaul as they are dated and very worn. quite disappointing. Staff seem very disengaged.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimandShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I found the service outstanding. On our arrival, the reception staff was incredibly helpful. Our booking confirmation stated that the shuttle service is not available for pickup from car rental/campervan places so we expected to drop off the van then walk back to the motel. However without us even asking they said we should give them a call when we dropped off our van and they will come and pick us up. They also suggested a number of places to pick up something to eat before dropping off the van, giving us various options and making suggestions based on price and convenience – it all showed they were really trying to make things easy and convenient for us. We’ve had bad experiences with tour companies and the campervan rental company during our trip so this was just a wonderful way to finish it off and leaving New Zealand on a good note. I highly recommend this motel to anyone – especially if good service is important.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes4456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Exactly the experience we aim for our guests to receive.
Cheers,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Warmly welcomed and when we explained that we had forgotten to mention one of our party had recently had a double knee replacement, we were changed to a downstairs unit with walk-in shower, complete with shower seat. We had arrived a little early but they happily stored some perishable items until our unit was ready. Returning to the motel our room was ready complete with our perishables in the fridge. The unit was 2 bedroom with excellent facilities. The lighting was exceptionally good including good reading lights over the beds. The unit had excellent heating, so we were cosy even though the outside temperature was down to zero. The beds were very comfortable as was the sofa and easy-chair. The compendium was the best I have ever seen, complete with what to do in event of another Christchurch earthquake = well done. Although there was a restaurant available we did not use it. I found this complex worthy of my highest recomendation.

Room Tip: We chose this motel as it is close to the airport, and has a courtesy shuttle
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Exactly the experience we aim for our guests to receive.
Cheers,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a very nice little hotel 5 mins from the airport. great services, pick up drop off from airport and rental car/ campervan places. I took the standard room dispite reception trying to talk me into upgrading but it was Very nice! there was nothing else I needed. The menu was great and my 3am wake up call and drop off at airport was easy!

Room Tip: They are all very nice and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Exactly the experience we aim for our guests to receive.
Cheers,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent units, very modern. We had two family units and they were very comfortable and the restaurant food was lovely.
Also later when some of the family moved into a single room they were amazed at the beautiful new unit, nice surroundings.
The staff are pleasant and always ready to help.
Very easy access from the airort.

Room Tip: New single units are very modern. Familt rooms are two bedrooms, comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Exactly the experience we aim for our guests to receive.
Cheers,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $82 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing