We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here on two occasions -- arrival and departure from Christchurch airport. The close proximity to the airport and free shuttle service was excellent (transported all our ski holiday baggage with no problem). We stayed in an older room the first time (dated decor but clean, spacious one-bedroom with its own kitchen and living room) and updated room the second time (one large room with exceptional decor and finishes -- beyond our expectations). Service was friendly, wi-fi was free and breakfast was great, too. Overall value was excellent. We would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kheeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    413
    128
    55
    36
See reviews for
345
536
81
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gympie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We arrived late at night to a warm reception. The inclusion of in room check-in made for a quick and easy transition to what had been a long day. Our room was upgraded to better accommodate our large family, free of charge. The staff were helpful and kind, the room was clean, and the facilities excellent. We would recommend this place to anyone staying near the Christchurch airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night after a late flight into Christchurch. Lovely motel, cute rooms with tea facilities and a good bathroom. Only problem was the beds were extremely soft, my husband ended up sleeping on the floor. We also didn't know about the shuttle bus and a taxi driver charged us $22 for a 3 min drive - oops. Overall I'd probably pick a different place next time just because of the uncomfortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jccharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here night 1 of our NZ holiday. Arrived at 1 am left at 8am and was ok prob because we were so tired. Decided to stay last night here due to location and fact we had to be at the airport at 5am. WRONG decision. Room was something out of the 80s. phone plug metres from the phone resulting in a dangling phone line through the room. a fridge that groaned all night according to my husband as i took a sleeping tablet to knock myself out after we were informed no upgrade due to the motel being full. The bed had 2 long dark hairs in it, it had lost all its firmness and was like a water bed. the top sheet looked 10 years old and smelt like it too. I wrapped myself in my own sarong and the towels which seemed to be the inly clean relatively new things in the room. The bathroom was dinghy old and damaged. It caused no end of unnecessary tension between my husband and I on our last night. It was disgusting. I don't usually complain and I would like to say the dinner was good and the trip to and from airport were on time and pleasant ... Other than this I would seriously not waste your money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We got to stay in room 704 one off the newly built ones that had only just been finished and were very impressed top class room to go with the great service you get while there.We are in USA for 3.5 weeks and since we stayed the night there we can leave car there while away for free they drop you at airport in shuttle so we do this every time we travel overseas highly recommend them to anyone families or anybody

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We often use this comfortable motel close to airport, transport provided to and from the airport. They now have a restaurant although we havnt eaten there as had other plans when there last. Quiet in the rooms we have stayed in. When we stayed in July seemed to have a lot of condensation on windows in am.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serpentinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I booked economy 2 bedroom for 5 and surprisingly got executive room that can accommodate up to 7 people. The lodge is so spacious, with the living room completed by big LCD tv and home theatre, the kitchen also great. The location is so close to the airport, very nice for the guest who needs to catch up the early morning flight. They provide free airport transfer for the guests.
The staff also helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yane16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 145 in Christchurch
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Property: Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing