We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodation but some staff need to learn customer service skills.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice accommodation but some staff need to learn customer service skills.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stay in motels/hotels on a weekly basis throughout new Zealand and Australia. This property is nice...I had a new room and good value. Facilities are more boutique. Some staff were brilliant but others didn't seemed to care much about the customers needs. If some staff leave, this venue would be one of my best experienced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank multitravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    413
    128
    55
    36
See reviews for
345
536
81
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Murchison, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Would recommend staying here especially if going overseas. My husband and I were very mpressed we stayed in very clean modern apartments. We also dined in there restaurant food great if a little expensive. Wonderful service and people,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaky_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Lodge for two nights in a twin bedroom, full kitchen and lounge unit. Whilst it was clean, the decor was very dated - aside from the bathroom which had clearly been recently updated. Otherwise, for the cost it was overpriced - particularly as there is building on site which does ruin the stay a bit. Birds were in the spouting too - which is not a problem for me as I love nature - but they did make some noise too - so it was interesting that they had not been moved on (gently I hope!)
Overall - before building new suites, perhaps you needed to focus on the old ones first!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPeeps16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed overnight in one of the newer studios, which we found very stylish and comfortable, if a little on the expensive side. That said, we were very impressed by the service - even for an overnight stay we were cheerfully picked up within 5 minutes from the airport after dropping off our hire car, and then dropped at the airport on leaving at 4,30am the next morning. This service alone was worth the cost. We found the staff very friendly and helpful - but I'd have to agree that the poor waitress in the restaurant was overworked, and that the menu was rather limited. Our meals, however, were satisfying and generous. If you have a late arrival or early start, it would be hard to beat the airport lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie101_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

As per the title convinet location but that's about it, rooms were clean but need up dating. Restraunt was modern but lacked service with only one poor girl on trying to run everything. Left unsatisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boydo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

There is a review done already in June . We must have had the same staff on duty. The unit was cold, no warm welcome from the staff. The restaurant menu was a joke, half the items were off. What did arrive on the plate was well below what a M fast food chain could serve up.
Breakfast was just as bad items missing off the menu and to top it off we were charged for the coffee that was included in the menu.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dijon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Airport Gateway twice on recent holiday. The staff were wonderful - friendly and helpful - and the room was excellent. Free and friendly airport pick up - at 1:30 am ! The Airport Gateway is not cheap - but the price is fair - and we made sure to return there on our way back through Christchurch. Highly recommended. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 145 in Christchurch
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Property: Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing