We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here last night. The room we had was one of the retro rooms described by other contributors, and was clean, but on the main road and very noisy in the afternoon, but fine at night. Apart from that, it was as you would expect, so no complaints there. The Limo picked us up from the Airport with another couple. It's a stretch, with room for 4 people in the back, and towing a trailer so they can fit luggage in it. I don't get it really, it has no sign writing on it, so maybe they use it for weddings or such, but a mini bus would be better. Check in and out were quick and friendly. We dined at the Flight Lounge restaurant and bar. It looks like this is one of the areas of the Motels that has been done up, and looks nice, a bit cold on the night with a breeze wafting in from the main door. On the night we were there, they were busy, and mucked up a few orders around us (not ours), and the service was slow. On to the food, I had the strip steak with a red Wine sauce, the steak was cooked as requested, the sauce was a little weak, but OK, the carrots were not really cooked at all, but not a big deal, I like raw carrots. The hand cut Chips were excellent. In closing, a motel that offers free pickup and delivery to the airport, has a bar/restaurant, is clean, and has friendly staff is all anyone can ask for. No doubt there is room for improvement, but I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for the review. The limo has retired and we have a mini-van to replace it. The Chef prides himself on his steaks so great to know it was cooked how you like it. Regards, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed one night prior to an early morning flight and the apartment (one of the new units recently built) was spot on. Clean, roomy and with all the things you need for a short stay including big TV, small kitchenette and large, well stocked bathroom (shower only in our room).

The room was well heated (and adjustable for those very chilly South Island nights), and the bed and bedding very comfortable.

Our only gripe was the restaurant. It looked promising at first glance of the menu but the food was far too expensive for what is, afterall, a motel. For the money we got very stingy meals. My husband had the steak and was given seven chips with it - yes.. 7.. we counted. I would not eat here again.

The transfer to the airport is a bonus - during the day it's via their limo but as we left at 5.15am we were provided with a taxi (included in the room price).

Room Tip: Try to get a new unit, the others are a wee bit dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoorfNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a last minute booking due to a flight change, and we were so pleased we went ahead and booked. The free pick up from the airport was the decider for us. We rang from the free telephone at 3am for us to be picked up, and they arrived in 10 mins of the call. It was a fairly short journey, and the guy was very helpful he took us right to the door and helped us carry our bags. We were very pleased with our stay, the facilities were great.The rooms were huge, very spacious and clean. It was a shame we arrived half way through the night. We asked for the check out time to be slightly later and they were very accommodating, and even took us to pick up the campervan we had hired for the rest of our travels after we had checked out. The staff were extremely helpful and very accommodating. The rooms were great, we had a peaceful night sleep, and the beds were very comfy.
I could of happily stayed there an extra few nights, and would highly recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We've previously stayed at this motel but in one of their cheaper rooms. On this occasion we stayed in one of their more expensive and newer rooms. Very clean, excellent amenities and modern decor. The motel is close to the airport with the convenience of free transfers to the airport. So I would suggest one of the newer rooms. No free wi-fi offered to us - $10 for 24 hours.

We chose to dine in-house and were a little disappointed with the food from Flight Lounge Restaurant and Bar. We ordered the Landing Strip with creamy garlic mashed potatoes, seasonal vegetables and a choice of 3 jus. We both chose mushroom jus. The steak was cooked beautifully medium as requested, but the jus was a little lacking (so was the mushrooms - one little slice). The jus was literally the "juice" from the meat and not a sauce as we expected. Vegetables consisted of two baby carrots and 2 pieces of bok choy.

Room Tip: If you are to afford the extra money stay in the newer part of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

the best service
great place to stay
the best service
great place to stay
the best service
great place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We mostly stay at this complex when we fly out of Christchurch as they give a really good service and the rooms are clean and spacious. They have free wifi, free taxi service to and from the airport and you are able to leave your car there at no extra cost. The desk is manned all the time and they have a restaurant. All you need really.
Thanks guys

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

this was even nicer than it looked online, clean, new and modern...little bit noisey by a busy road but other than that the place was really nice.Comfy bed and gorgeous linen..very upmarket i would highly reccomend .

Room Tip: maybe on the other side as we were right near the busy road and could even hear the pedetrian crosss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bossyb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $91 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing