We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Ranked #27 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 29, 2008

This motel exceeded our expectations and was one of the best places we stayed in during a two-week tour of the south island. Very good room, spotlessly clean and plenty of space. Welcoming and helpful host, excellent location for restaurants and not far to the city centre. Note you will have to drag your luggage up a flight of steps if you are given a first-floor room.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowlorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    87
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
73
144
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Wonderful time - didn't have to take the car anywhere - so handy to town we walked everywhere! Lovely room very clean and tidy - had all we could ask for, for a comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Closeness to town
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We have stayed at Tuscana three times and it has always been first class presentation and service. We like that the location is walking distance to the city centre and that it has some very very good restaurants close by.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank johnnieRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

Tuscana is a well positioned motel, 20 minutes walk from the city centre, and 5 ninutes from a good selection of restaurants.
We were flying from Christchurch airport the next day, which is an easy 10 minutes drive from the motel.

We stayed in on of the luxury one bed suites, for just $145 per night. Very good value. These are spacoius rooms at the back of the motel away from the road. There is a good size room with kitchinette, sofas, tv, dining table etc. There is a good sized seperate bedroom at the rear. We had good undesturbed sleeps both nignts we stayed there.

The rooms and the motel are very clean and well maintained.

The owner, Mark, is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Close to city, clean, spacious, friendly owner, quiet bedroom
  • Disliked — On a busy road, you may want to be a little closer to city centre, but it was fine for us.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gazzeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Tuscana for 4 nights during our 2 week tour of the South Island. The location is great as it is right in the city center, has some really great restraunts within walking distance, and to top it off Mark (the manager) was accomodating, helpful, and an overall great host. In fact, we were able to leave most of our luggage with the Tuscana for 2 days while we were on a small side trip to visit the Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers, all with no charge. Furthermore, Mark was kind enough to help me take care of a little parking ticket (courtesy of the local authorities). The accomodations was roomy, clean, and very affordable. Our room had a seperate sitting area with a dvd player, small kitchen, seperate bedroom(microwave, fridge, all needed utensils, plates, dinning table, sink, etc), and good shower. I would recommend the Tuscana to anyone, you won't go wrong!

  • Liked — Location, accomodation, price, and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lucyethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

The location was close to town-a 10 min. walk and the room was clean, comfortable and the staff friendly and knowledgeable. The room was a bit small, but we adjusted. Mark was very helpful with any questions we had or problems with our room. The area is a bit noisy, but it wasn't that bad. The only real negative we had with our stay was there was no internet cafe or service within the motel. I did find a internet cafe in a hostel next door and was able to use it. No internet was the only negative we had with the Tuscana and would gladly stay there again or recomend it to friends.
Margaret Cunningham
Gulf Breeze, Florida

  • Liked — location, knowledgeable staff, clean, useable room
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pugg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Spent two nights here in December. The Tuscana is well-located, only ten minutes' walk from the center, but on quite a busy road that remains noisy into the late evening. We were in a top-floor studio unit which was adequate but quite a bit smaller than in comparably-priced properties. The tiny but well-equipped kitchenette was behind louvered doors, as was the bathroom (shower only). When the weather was warm (by no means hot) it was necessary to open windows both in the front and rear of the unit, which meant having the two louvered doors to the bathroom open in order to create some airflow--and with the windows open, there was a lot of street noise and also noise from other guests who were entertaining in their rooms.

Mark was a gracious host, but all in all I don't understand the raves about this property. The room was the smallest studio we had in any motel around the country, and we stayed in plenty on our six week trip! The unit was very clean, but that is the norm in New Zealand. The noise aspect was a bit of a pain, as the weather was mild and we needed to keep the windows open to sleep.

A restaurant tip--Bodhi Tree, Burmese food, on 808 Colombo St--absolutely delicious. It's small and reservations are essential. We'd eat there every week if we lived in ChCh.

  • Liked — helpful staff
  • Disliked — noisy, small room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiesAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#22 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#20 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscana Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscana Motor Lodge

Property: Tuscana Motor Lodge
Address: 74 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#20 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tuscana Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tuscana Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscana Hotel Christchurch
Tuscana Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing