We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscana Motor Lodge, quite a hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuscana Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Ranked #24 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tuscana Motor Lodge, quite a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Tuscana for 4 nights during our 2 week tour of the South Island. The location is great as it is right in the city center, has some really great restraunts within walking distance, and to top it off Mark (the manager) was accomodating, helpful, and an overall great host. In fact, we were able to leave most of our luggage with the Tuscana for 2 days while we were on a small side trip to visit the Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers, all with no charge. Furthermore, Mark was kind enough to help me take care of a little parking ticket (courtesy of the local authorities). The accomodations was roomy, clean, and very affordable. Our room had a seperate sitting area with a dvd player, small kitchen, seperate bedroom(microwave, fridge, all needed utensils, plates, dinning table, sink, etc), and good shower. I would recommend the Tuscana to anyone, you won't go wrong!

  • Liked — Location, accomodation, price, and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lucyethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    84
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
72
143
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

The location was close to town-a 10 min. walk and the room was clean, comfortable and the staff friendly and knowledgeable. The room was a bit small, but we adjusted. Mark was very helpful with any questions we had or problems with our room. The area is a bit noisy, but it wasn't that bad. The only real negative we had with our stay was there was no internet cafe or service within the motel. I did find a internet cafe in a hostel next door and was able to use it. No internet was the only negative we had with the Tuscana and would gladly stay there again or recomend it to friends.
Margaret Cunningham
Gulf Breeze, Florida

  • Liked — location, knowledgeable staff, clean, useable room
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pugg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

Spent two nights here in December. The Tuscana is well-located, only ten minutes' walk from the center, but on quite a busy road that remains noisy into the late evening. We were in a top-floor studio unit which was adequate but quite a bit smaller than in comparably-priced properties. The tiny but well-equipped kitchenette was behind louvered doors, as was the bathroom (shower only). When the weather was warm (by no means hot) it was necessary to open windows both in the front and rear of the unit, which meant having the two louvered doors to the bathroom open in order to create some airflow--and with the windows open, there was a lot of street noise and also noise from other guests who were entertaining in their rooms.

Mark was a gracious host, but all in all I don't understand the raves about this property. The room was the smallest studio we had in any motel around the country, and we stayed in plenty on our six week trip! The unit was very clean, but that is the norm in New Zealand. The noise aspect was a bit of a pain, as the weather was mild and we needed to keep the windows open to sleep.

A restaurant tip--Bodhi Tree, Burmese food, on 808 Colombo St--absolutely delicious. It's small and reservations are essential. We'd eat there every week if we lived in ChCh.

  • Liked — helpful staff
  • Disliked — noisy, small room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiesAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2007

Have you ever been away for a long trip and then when you get home, you feel that familiarity, ease and comfort? We returned back to Tuscana for another 2 nights after a very hectic long driving tour around the South Island (trip report forthcoming lol) and Mark was kind enough to offer us the same room we stayed in. That really helped spade since we knew what was where and could just sink into the sofa and rest! And because we were typical tourists, we bought spades of souvenirs and gifts to bring back for friends and family (Christmas time and all that), we got quite concerned about luggage weight. Mark loaned us his personal scale so that we could to help with the luggage balancing/ditching of unwanted stuff. We didn't have problems with outside noises from traffic (the usual youths with their souped up cars) esp when the windows were closed. Again, driving proximity to town centre and to Merivale Mall (and the further north Northland Shopping Mall which is huge), helped a lot. Tuscana, for us, was our home away from home, and it felt really good to return to Tuscana for our final nights in Aotearoa. Mark - Thanks a bundle for making our stay in NZ wonderful :)

  • Liked — Excellent Kiwi Service, Modern amenities!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank saidean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

We had a great stay at our first stopover in South Island. Mark was a perfect example of a good host. We arrived at the motel at 10.30 and our room was ready within a few minutes, though the check in time was 2.00 pm. The motel has a great location, is well equipped and is tastefully done up. Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Christchurch.
Bharat from Singapore

  • Liked — The wamrth of the host
  • Disliked — The motel did not offer free Internet access. This would have made our stay perfect
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BSJSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2007

Very comfortable room and bed. Very clean and tidy. Lovely people and very helpful. Proprietor went out of his way for a helping hand.
J. Kakebeeke

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JOAuckland7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitt meadows,bc,canda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2007

We stayed at the Toscana for 3 nights in late November. It was the last 3 nights of our 3 week vacation in New Zealand. Mark and his staff do a wonderful job. Our room was spotless. There is a bit of street noise but otherwise a great place to stay.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank cvernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#31 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#32 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#22 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#13 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#27 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
#23 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscana Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscana Motor Lodge

Property: Tuscana Motor Lodge
Address: 74 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#20 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tuscana Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Tuscana Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscana Hotel Christchurch
Tuscana Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing