We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Clearwater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Ranked #21 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night only with family in early August 2013, en-route to Queenstown. We booked a 3 bedroom lakeside villa, and from the moment we walked in we knew we were in for a terrific stay, if we knew how lovely it was we would have booked two nights. Check in was a breeze with friendly front of house staff.
Upon arrival our senses where overwhelmed with the smell of fresh baked bread in the breadmaker with butter and jams provided, such a lovely touch. The location was unbelievebly stunning as is most of New Zealand, and the villa itself was very warm and modern,2 storey bedrooms all upstairs with baconies, wonderful gas log fire on when we arrived, and underfloor heating, the kitchen was well equipped and we had shopped to cook a meal there, so drove about 10mins to the grocery store for supplies. I was in the middle of cooking when i realised i had forgotten to buy cooking foil, but a phone call to reception and it was delivered to me within 5 mins.We had breakfast in the dining room the next morning and it too was lovely, very well set out, and check out was easy, none of the problems i have read about in some of the reviews.This hotel is on an estate and driving to and from the reception was nice to see the whole resort from the golf course, the lake and other stunning homes.Also provided is a garage for your car.
One minor misunderstanding regarding the mini bar, but it only took a phone call to resolve it, and i must mention to compensate for this minor issue they very kindly provided us with a lovely platter of cheese and biscuits at our next hotel in queenstown which was also a Peppers (i will review that seperately) I most likely would return to this hotel if i go to Christchurch again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowgirlAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Kia ora glasgowgirlAustralia,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I will certainly pass these onto all the team members here.

Kind Regards

Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    190
    82
    38
    18
See reviews for
77
286
14
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been staying at Clearwater for 8 years- as a hotel, this is a magnificent, breathtaking, amazing, home away from home with all you need for a WOW holiday or a superb business trip. BIG rooms, all with spectacular views, modern and comfortable, warm and welcoming. A tennis court, golf course of International standard, great walking and running tracks and very close to the airport but no plane noise. The food, room service and restaurants are world class and everything you touch has a touch of class AND THEN WE MET JACK!! The service has always been, "good" her, polite, efficient and helpful but this trip Jack was at the front desk and service has taken on a whole new meaning!! The man is warm , real, friendly, and every extra mile thing he could have done-he did!! The room service and restaurant tam have been extra special this trip too so perhaps new training, a new manager or just attracted great people who love what they do. Beautiful Clearwater now has not just good service but Superb service!!

Room Tip: ALL the rooms here a re amazing-we have stayed in most but the big suites on the lake-WOW-well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Kia ora RobinaS

Thank you for taking the time to make comments regarding your recent visit. Its always good to hear such great feedback from regular clients . I look forward to catch up when you next visit Christchurch.


Kind regards

Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Peppers resorts are generally pretty good, but the experience we had at Clearwater wasn't up to scratch.
There was a problem finding our reservation, which occupied the first 15 minutes (there were other people trying to check in and out, and phones constantly ringing, and the woman (who was on her own) just couldn't get my name straight (I have a hyphenated surname which seemed to throw her completely, and there was real confusion about whether rooms were ready or not, and who had what room). In the end the woman simply disappeared into a back office, so I stuck my head in and told her we would go into the restaurant to wait for her to sort things out. We never saw her again, the restaurant was just as slow - and then we started all over again with the new person (who was, to be fair, much more helpful).
Finally, into our room - which I have to say was just beautiful: perfect for what we we after.
But then, problems again: we asked for the front desk to order a cab for 6.30. Somehow this required three phone calls from the front desk, asking for more and more information about where we were going, when we'd be ready etc (I gather from what they told us later that the cab company wanted to know exactly where we were going - and we didn't have our friend's exact address - just his street, so there was a process of negotiation which the front desk seemed unable to handle). Honestly, it would have been easier for us just to ring the cab company ourselves.
To be honest, it was a relief to leave for the night out, and to return to sleep, not to deal with the staff!
This is a truly magnificent venue, and would be great if you went for the golf - but our experience suggests it really needs to sort out its service - at least to bring it up to the standard of the other Peppers we have stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashtalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Kia ora,

I am sorry that your service experience at Peppers Clearwater fell below our normal high service standards. I will certianly address the issues raised to ensure this is not repeated.



Regards
Ken Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very pleasant, quiet, clean, and full featured accommodation on the outskirts of Christchurch. The unit was on a small lake near the golf course. It was winter so we had ice/snow but the unit was warm and cozy. Only complaint was the lack of free internet connectivity. But, that seems to be the case throughout NZ.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Kia ora ,

Thank you for comments. We have recently included free limited internet access in the reception and bar areas directly as a result of guest feedback such as this. I certainly hope on your next visit you will take advantage if this new offerring.

Kind regards
Ken Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for four nights while on a trip around the South Island, we booked over the Internet which was quick and easy.
When we arrived they could not find our booking so spent over an hour trying to sort it, nothing was offered while we waited and waited. Finally they found it and we were sent on our way with a map to our room. Don't expect any help at this hotel as they do not have porters so travel light or get a room on the bottom floor but traipsing up three flights of stairs arrrr not so nice. We booked a 'lakeview suite' which we assume we got not sure where the lake view came into it we could see a fence and if you stood on your tippee toes the road and houses on the other side. We were thankful for the extra room though with couch, kitchenette and table, the bed was very comfy and it was a lovely thought to have a fresh loaf of bread waiting for us in the bread maker (that got you and extra star)
Room cleaning also finishes at 12pm which we were not told so twice our room missed being cleaned as we didn't realise there was a cut off time until we called and were told so. The walls are very thin and we could hear people in the upstairs room very clearly which was kinda disturbing
One thing I never understand is when providing a washing machine in the room why buy the most complicated machine with lots of symbols which mean absolutely nothing unless you have some instructions..............
Close to airport but a long way to the CBD or any decent shops.
If you love golf maybe you can put up with these few things but otherwise I would look elsewhere for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Kia ora,

Thank you for your feedback. I am disspointed that on this occasion we failed to live up to our usual high standards. I have spoken to our Front Office and Housekeeping teams about your comments. We are always able to help with luggage and this service should have been offerred on check in, I apologise for this.

Housekeeping does not finish at midday but are on till the last rooms have been cleaned and serviced. Unless there was a Do Not Disturb on the door they should have come back to service your room later in the day. This has been addressed.

Peppers Clearwater Resort was designed to be a secluded resort and is not in a city locale close to shops, although there is a mall less than a 10 minute drive from the resort.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Recently had 3 nights here while visiting family in various areas of Christchurch , everything was perfect here, we had a really quiet and relaxing stay which is very important to us, we want to get away from hustle and bustle of a noisy city. Just to look out over the lake and watch the bird life was so soothing and peaceful. Our apartment room was immaculately clean and very warm it was great on our arrival to find heating on and side lamps turned on for a cosy first impression We didn't eat at restaurant but our arrival and departure were handled in a very professional manner at reception. We certainly would like to return sometime soon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Queenie-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Kia ora,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are truly lucky to have such a serene environment around our rooms and I am glad you enjoyed your time here.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future and hope you will have the opportunity to dine with us then and experience our beautiful local cuisine.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This was really great resort which i have stayed in. everything is good in this resort. its just the city which is very depressing nothing in d city. moreover this resort is far from city. must stay in this beautiful resort. we will come back soon

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9nitesh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Kia ora Nitesh,

Thank you for providing us feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Christchurch has gone through some tough times with the earthquakes but is a resilient city and has bounced back well.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to enjoy it further.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
6.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
5.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.0 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
6.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Clearwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Clearwater Resort

Property: Peppers Clearwater Resort
Address: Clearwater Ave., Harewood, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand (Formerly Outrigger Clearwater Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Clearwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 minutes from Christchurch airport, Peppers Clearwater Resort is the perfect place to gaze out over the surrounding lakes and the mountains standing tall in the background. Accommodation includes hotel rooms, suites and apartments with all the amenities expected of Peppers, while on-site activities include tennis, fly fishing, a game of golf on the championship PGA course, and walking/jogging tracks. Enjoy uncomplicated and flavoursome food prepared with passion by the award winning team at The Lake Restaurant, overlooking the lake and fairway. Dinner bookings until 9pm daily. All rooms have wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peppers Clearwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Clearwater Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing