We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but........” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Clearwater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Ranked #21 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“OK but........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for four nights while on a trip around the South Island, we booked over the Internet which was quick and easy.
When we arrived they could not find our booking so spent over an hour trying to sort it, nothing was offered while we waited and waited. Finally they found it and we were sent on our way with a map to our room. Don't expect any help at this hotel as they do not have porters so travel light or get a room on the bottom floor but traipsing up three flights of stairs arrrr not so nice. We booked a 'lakeview suite' which we assume we got not sure where the lake view came into it we could see a fence and if you stood on your tippee toes the road and houses on the other side. We were thankful for the extra room though with couch, kitchenette and table, the bed was very comfy and it was a lovely thought to have a fresh loaf of bread waiting for us in the bread maker (that got you and extra star)
Room cleaning also finishes at 12pm which we were not told so twice our room missed being cleaned as we didn't realise there was a cut off time until we called and were told so. The walls are very thin and we could hear people in the upstairs room very clearly which was kinda disturbing
One thing I never understand is when providing a washing machine in the room why buy the most complicated machine with lots of symbols which mean absolutely nothing unless you have some instructions..............
Close to airport but a long way to the CBD or any decent shops.
If you love golf maybe you can put up with these few things but otherwise I would look elsewhere for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Kia ora,

Thank you for your feedback. I am disspointed that on this occasion we failed to live up to our usual high standards. I have spoken to our Front Office and Housekeeping teams about your comments. We are always able to help with luggage and this service should have been offerred on check in, I apologise for this.

Housekeeping does not finish at midday but are on till the last rooms have been cleaned and serviced. Unless there was a Do Not Disturb on the door they should have come back to service your room later in the day. This has been addressed.

Peppers Clearwater Resort was designed to be a secluded resort and is not in a city locale close to shops, although there is a mall less than a 10 minute drive from the resort.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    191
    82
    38
    18
See reviews for
77
287
14
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Recently had 3 nights here while visiting family in various areas of Christchurch , everything was perfect here, we had a really quiet and relaxing stay which is very important to us, we want to get away from hustle and bustle of a noisy city. Just to look out over the lake and watch the bird life was so soothing and peaceful. Our apartment room was immaculately clean and very warm it was great on our arrival to find heating on and side lamps turned on for a cosy first impression We didn't eat at restaurant but our arrival and departure were handled in a very professional manner at reception. We certainly would like to return sometime soon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Queenie-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Kia ora,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are truly lucky to have such a serene environment around our rooms and I am glad you enjoyed your time here.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future and hope you will have the opportunity to dine with us then and experience our beautiful local cuisine.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This was really great resort which i have stayed in. everything is good in this resort. its just the city which is very depressing nothing in d city. moreover this resort is far from city. must stay in this beautiful resort. we will come back soon

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9nitesh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Kia ora Nitesh,

Thank you for providing us feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Christchurch has gone through some tough times with the earthquakes but is a resilient city and has bounced back well.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to enjoy it further.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago and found it to be the best in Christchurch given the beautiful grounds, rooms, lake and golf course. We secured a very reasonable room upgrade and loved the view from our very spacious and modern room with a large deck. It would be fabulous in Summer!

Looked forward to getting back to the restaurant / bar in the afternoon for a red wine by the cosy gas fire. We travel to Chch every year and will be returning here.

Room Tip: Lakeview is a must!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Danielle25Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Danielle,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyes your stay with us. The resort is certainly quite cosy in the winter time but is spectacular in the summer. We hope to welcome you back then.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were so disappointed with our room and the service that we did not end up staying.

The room was described as "Lakeside" with views over the driving range. Granted, there were glimpses of what could have been a driving range beyond the car park that dominated the outlook, but our expectations of a view over the lake were well off the mark. At best it would have been a depressing room to have spent any time in. There were also patch repairs in the carpet, and the room had intoxicating smells of cleaning materials. As indicated in other reviews, and confirmed by the resort, the rooms are overdue for renovations.

We were offered an alternative room, due to the smells, but we had been put off by the experience, and a lack of any Duty Manager available on a Sunday afternoon made sorting out our situation at the time very unsatisfactory. Our accommodation had been fully paid, and subsequent efforts to get a refund were unsuccessful.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms face away from the lake and onto the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossco_of_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Kia ora,

Thank you for sharing your views. We have had several discussions via email and phone but the resolution was not to your satisfaction. The staff on duty tried to offer you an alternative room as well as a discounted upgrade for a Suite with a Lake view but you rejected both these reasonable solutions.

Our reservations team, as discussed with yourself, have reviewed the description of the rooms on Wotif and they are correct, they do not mention a lake view anywhere.

I am dissapointed you were not able to stay with us by taking one of the options offerred to you on the night.

Regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were planning a function and requested information on costs etc., we received a very prompt, easily read and concise quote. We are not going to use Pepper for our function (found somewhere closer to the centre of Christchurch), but were very impressed with their response.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherJNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Kia ora Heather,

Thank you for your kind comments. I have passed this onto our Conference team who were very pleased to hear you appreciated their service.

I hope that we are able to accommodate you in the near future for an event here.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Superb Property awsum view nice ambience mouth watering food. really clear waters all around best place to stay in christchurc. and best part is privacy superb experiece dam helpful staff. loved the property

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohitJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Kia ora Mohit,

Thank you placing such positive feedback for the resort. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and have shared your comments with the staff.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon in New Zealand.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
6.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
5.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.0 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
6.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Clearwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Clearwater Resort

Property: Peppers Clearwater Resort
Address: Clearwater Ave., Harewood, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand (Formerly Outrigger Clearwater Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Clearwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 minutes from Christchurch airport, Peppers Clearwater Resort is the perfect place to gaze out over the surrounding lakes and the mountains standing tall in the background. Accommodation includes hotel rooms, suites and apartments with all the amenities expected of Peppers, while on-site activities include tennis, fly fishing, a game of golf on the championship PGA course, and walking/jogging tracks. Enjoy uncomplicated and flavoursome food prepared with passion by the award winning team at The Lake Restaurant, overlooking the lake and fairway. Dinner bookings until 9pm daily. All rooms have wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Clearwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Clearwater Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing