We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Ranked #17 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were so disappointed with our room and the service that we did not end up staying.

The room was described as "Lakeside" with views over the driving range. Granted, there were glimpses of what could have been a driving range beyond the car park that dominated the outlook, but our expectations of a view over the lake were well off the mark. At best it would have been a depressing room to have spent any time in. There were also patch repairs in the carpet, and the room had intoxicating smells of cleaning materials. As indicated in other reviews, and confirmed by the resort, the rooms are overdue for renovations.

We were offered an alternative room, due to the smells, but we had been put off by the experience, and a lack of any Duty Manager available on a Sunday afternoon made sorting out our situation at the time very unsatisfactory. Our accommodation had been fully paid, and subsequent efforts to get a refund were unsuccessful.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms face away from the lake and onto the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossco_of_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Kia ora,

Thank you for sharing your views. We have had several discussions via email and phone but the resolution was not to your satisfaction. The staff on duty tried to offer you an alternative room as well as a discounted upgrade for a Suite with a Lake view but you rejected both these reasonable solutions.

Our reservations team, as discussed with yourself, have reviewed the description of the rooms on Wotif and they are correct, they do not mention a lake view anywhere.

I am dissapointed you were not able to stay with us by taking one of the options offerred to you on the night.

Regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 712 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were planning a function and requested information on costs etc., we received a very prompt, easily read and concise quote. We are not going to use Pepper for our function (found somewhere closer to the centre of Christchurch), but were very impressed with their response.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank HeatherJNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Kia ora Heather,

Thank you for your kind comments. I have passed this onto our Conference team who were very pleased to hear you appreciated their service.

I hope that we are able to accommodate you in the near future for an event here.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Superb Property awsum view nice ambience mouth watering food. really clear waters all around best place to stay in christchurc. and best part is privacy superb experiece dam helpful staff. loved the property

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MohitJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Kia ora Mohit,

Thank you placing such positive feedback for the resort. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and have shared your comments with the staff.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon in New Zealand.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

good hotel with good spacious rooms,reasonably priced,nicely appointed,comfortable bed,good mini bar.hard to fault this place if you want a nice quiet place to stay.rooms a little far from reception tho especially when its raining and one forgets to bring his umbrella

Room Tip: get a room close to reception and the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Kia ora Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The location of the resort and the layout of the rooms does make for a peaceful stay and I am glad you were able to enjoy the quiet.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here for a business meeting. It was a long walk from the villa to the restaurant/meeting rooms & it can be awfully cold early in the morning in Christchurch. But if you are a golfer the course looked fantastic, & the villa was very clean & well equipped!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa near the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Kia ora John,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback.

I am dissapointed that our complimentary pick up and drop off service in our resort vans was not offerred on this occasion. We have two vans for this express purpose. The resort is quite spread out which gives guests privacy as they have peace and quiet in their individual rooms but we recognise that the rooms can be a few minutes walk from Reception/Restaurant and vice versa, our staff are available 24hrs a day to to bring gusts to and from the main building.

I hope to welcome you back on a leisure trip in the near future and you can take advantage of our great golf course.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Short drive from the city center of Christchurch. Nice quiet resort with beautiful views from any room. The rooms were amazing, small kitchen area with ability to cook your own meals. Living room area sectioned off from bedroom. spacious and very relaxing. Golf course was well kept and the rented clubs were top of the line. A nice little nature trail near the course. Room service does have a limited menu but all very good selections. I certainly will return and hopefully play a few more rounds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nature7897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Kia ora,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the summer for the golf which on a clear day is stunning.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm going to start this review by saying that I have worked in Hotel and Restaurant Management for 10 years and I have recently changed over to the travel industry so needless to say I'm very picky to say the least. I was absolutely blown away by the quality of service, The location and the accommodation at peppers Clearwater. The resort is spread over a lush estate surrounded by a beautiful golf coarse and lakes that make you feel instantly relaxed. Check in was a wonderful experience with a lady (name starting with a Y) who was very helpful and also Andrew the Reservations Manager. We were greeted in our apartment to the smell of freshly baked bread which had been put on for a arrival. Walking into the apartment we all just fell in love instantly from the beautiful riverstone fireplace to the view, kitchen, amazingly huge (and comfortable) beds and bathrooms. We had requested a BBQ for our room which was ready for us to use when we arrived. We required additional plates which a lovely member of housekeeping had so kindly bought down for us (very promptly). Lilaya from reception even called down to see how we where which made us feel very welcomed. The resort also even granted us a late check out in the morning which was great as it was our first day of Holidays. I honestly could not fault this resort at all! Don't pay attention to the drones who cry about the distance to your room from reception as they offer a golf cart transfer down to your room. If you could fault this place you are looking too hard! Thank you peppers Clearwater and team for a memorable and very special Easter weekend it was greatly appreciated!

Room Tip: We had a terrace apartment which was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchellp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahad H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Kia ora Mitchell,

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us feedback. I will make sure that the staff mentioned are aware of the great service they are providing.

I hope you enjoyed the BBQ on the deck and enjoyed the last few days of summer weather.

I look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Warm regards
Fahad Hayat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.5 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
6.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,949 reviews
6.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,372 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Clearwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Clearwater Resort

Address: Clearwater Ave., Harewood, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand (Formerly Outrigger Clearwater Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $140 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Clearwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 minutes from Christchurch airport, Peppers Clearwater Resort is the perfect place to gaze out over the surrounding lakes and the mountains standing tall in the background. Accommodation includes hotel rooms, suites and apartments with all the amenities expected of Peppers, while on-site activities include tennis, fly fishing, a game of golf on the championship PGA course, and walking/jogging tracks. Enjoy uncomplicated and flavoursome food prepared with passion by the award winning team at The Lake Restaurant, overlooking the lake and fairway. Dinner bookings until 9pm daily. All rooms have wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Clearwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Clearwater Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing